Governor Abbott Names Chair And Appoints Three To Texas Historical Commission

May 11, 2015 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Texas Governor Greg Abbott today appointed and named John L. Nau, III as Chairman of the Texas Historical Commission for a term to expire on February 1, 2021. Governor Abbott additionally appointed Wallace Jefferson and Anna Benavides Galo to terms set to expire on February 1, 2019 and February 1, 2021, respectively.

John L. Nau, III is President and Chief Executive Officer of Silver Eagle Distributors, L.P., the nation’s largest distributor of Anheuser-Busch products. Silver Eagle employs over 1,300 employees that serve 16 counties in Texas through operations in Houston, San Antonio, Conroe, Cypress, Pasadena, Rosenberg, Carrizo Springs and Del Rio. Nau’s commitment to service is apparent through a broad spectrum of participation in civic, community and philanthropic organizations in Houston and throughout the country. His current involvement includes National Park Foundation Board of Directors, Civil War Trust Board of Directors, The Texas State Historical Association Board of Directors, Baylor College of Medicine Board of Trustees, Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History Board of Trustees, University of Houston Board of Visitors, Honorary Trustee of the Greater Houston Convention & Visitors Bureau, Honorary Trustee of Texas Heart Institute, Honorary State Trustee for the San Antonio Parks Foundation and Advisory Council member to the Center for Big Bend Studies. He also serves as a Board Member for Discovery Green Conservancy, Friends of the Texas Historical Commission, Friends of Vicksburg National Military Park, Houston Police Foundation and The Admiral Nimitz Foundation.  Additionally, he is Chairman of the Steering Committee for the proposed Lone Star Coastal National Recreation Area. He is a graduate of the University of Virginia, where he earned a Bachelor of Arts in History and currently serves on the Board of Visitors, a position appointed by the Governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia.  He is founder and President of The Nau Foundation.

Wallace B. Jefferson is a partner at Alexander Dubose Jefferson & Townsend, LLP in Austin. Prior to joining the law firm, Jefferson served as the Chief Justice to the Supreme Court of Texas from 2004 until 2013 and as an associate justice from 2001 until 2004. Justice Jefferson serves on the University of Texas Development Board, Council of the American Law Institute, University of Texas Law School Foundation and the Texas Supreme Court Historical Society. Justice Jefferson has three times made Texas judicial history as the first appointed African American Justice to the Texas Supreme Court, first elected African American justice to the court along with Justice Dale Wainwright and then first African American Chief Justice to the Texas Supreme Court. Justice Jefferson received the “Pillars of the Foundation” award by the Northside Independent School District and is the namesake for the Wallace B. Jefferson Middle School in San Antonio. Jefferson received a Bachelor of Arts in Political Philosophy from James Madison College at Michigan State University and earned his Juris Doctor from the University Of Texas School Of Law. He is the recipient of the James Madison College Distinguished Alumnus award in 2002, the University Of Texas School Of Law’s Outstanding Alumnus Award in 2005, Michigan State University Outstanding Alumnus award in 2007, and Texas Exes' Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2010.

Anna Benavides Galo is active in her family’s business, serving as co-trustee of the family mineral trust as well as Vice-President and Co-Operations Manager of several companies dealing with oil and gas holdings, commercial real estate, and ranch industries. She is also a former educator. Galo is a loyal advocate to fighting hunger in South Texas and is the current president of the board of directors at the South Texas Food Bank. In 2006, she and her husband, John, along with her family helped establish three Kid’s Cafes located at the Benavides Boys & Girls Club downtown and in South Laredo in Rio Bravo and El Cenizo. In 2010, Las Damas de la Cultura de Oro, an organization that conserves Hispanic customs and traditions for future generations in Texas, recognized Galo with the La Dama Award for her tireless efforts and contributions towards this cause. Galo was also honored by LEAD Laredo into their Laredo Hall of Fame, and in 2011, she and her husband were honored with the Blue Spirit of Excellence Award by the Laredo Police Officers Association. In 2013, Galo was awarded Tejano Achiever by LULAC Council No. 12. Later this week, she will be inducted into the Jr. Achievement Laredo Business Hall of Fame. Galo is a former board member of the Border Cultural Promotion Foundation, the Laredo Center for the Arts, the Webb County Children’s Advocacy Center and a former board member and local chair of AVANCE. Galo served on the City of Laredo Historic Landmark Board committed to the preservation of the historic areas of the city. Galo and her family enabled the renovation and preservation of the American Legion’s Post 59 located in the historic area of downtown Laredo. Galo graduated from St. Mary’s University with a degree in English.

These appointments are subject to Senate confirmation.