Council Members

To advocate for and support a systems approach to the delivery of workforce programs and services, the Council convenes quarterly or at the call of the Chair to consider actions, research, and other issues related to workforce system programs and services.

The Council is composed of 19 members. The Governor appoints 14 members representing business and industry, organized labor, education, and community-based organizations. The remaining five members are ex-officio representatives from the Council's member state agencies.

Business and Industry

  • Mark Dunn, Chair (Lufkin)
  • Gina Aguirre Adams (Jones Creek)
  • Thomas Halbouty (Southlake)
  • Wayne Oswald (Houston)
  • Jerry Romero (El Paso)

Community-Based Organization

  • Sharla Hotchkiss, Vice Chair (Midland)


  • Carmen Olivas Graham (El Paso)
  • Adam Hutchison (Elm Mott)
  • Richard Rhodes (Austin)

Organized Labor

  • Mark Barberena (Fort Worth)
  • Lindsey Geeslin (Waco)
  • Robert Hawkins (Bellmead)
  • Paul Jones (Austin)
  • Paul Puente (Houston)

State Agency Ex Officio

  • Harrison Keller (Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board)
  • Mike Morath (Texas Education Agency)
  • Courtney Phillips (Texas Health and Human Services Commission) 
  • Ed Serna (Texas Workforce Commission)
  • Vacant (Economic Development and Tourism, Office of the Governor)