Texas Women’s Hall Of Fame

The Governor's Commission for Women established the Texas Women's Hall of Fame in 1984 to recognize the achievements of Texas women. Nominated biennially by Texans and selected by an independent panel of judges, inductees include former First Ladies, astronauts, entrepreneurs, public servants, Olympic athletes, and other women of significant accomplishment.

2023 Hall of Fame Honorees

Governor Greg Abbott and the Governor’s Commission for Women are pleased to announce the 2023 Texas Women’s Hall of Fame Honorees. Recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields and for changing the course of history, these women have been selected for induction into the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame.


Leta Andrews (Athletics) - In recognition of her more than five decades as a dedicated teacher and coach, with half of those at Granbury High School, inspiring her students to be champions in sports and in life and leading the nation with the most career wins as a basketball coach.

Mary Horn (Public Service) - In posthumous recognition of her legacy of dedicated public service in 26 years of elected office, including as the longest-serving Denton County judge, carefully stewarding taxpayer resources while administering necessary services in one of the fastest-growing counties.

Val LaMantia (Business) - In recognition of her business leadership as owner and managing partner of a beverage distribution company, her service to the McAllen community, and her role as a founding member of the STARS Scholarship Fund, furthering education for nearly 20,000 students in South and West Texas.   

Opal Lee (Civic Leadership) - In recognition of her community service in Fort Worth and her tireless advocacy nationwide, winning federal recognition of the historic Juneteenth holiday celebrating the end of slavery in the U.S., and for her perseverance in promoting a message of unity and understanding.

Lavinia Masters (Advocacy/Community Service) - In recognition of her selflessness and strength, building on her faith and finding the power of her voice to speak for survivors of sexual violence, to raise awareness of a nationwide rape kit backlog, and to bring justice through legislative action.

Antonietta Quigg (Science/Technology) - In recognition of her leadership of critical marine-related research at Texas A&M University at Galveston and at College Station, leading to a better understanding of Texas’ coastal ecosystem, and for her passion in mentoring student researchers. 

Charlotte Sharp (Philanthropy) - In posthumous recognition of her legacy of faith-filled compassion and generosity, volunteering her time and raising funds to help ease the suffering of others, comfort sick children, feed hungry families, and seek shelter for individuals struggling to find a safe place to live.

Elizabeth Suarez (Public Service) - In recognition of her journey of service and leadership in municipal government, forging regional ground and air connectivity for a seamless domestic and international transportation network supporting economic expansion in McAllen and across the Rio Grande Valley and Texas.

2023 Texas Women's Hall of Fame Pioneer Woman

In a new tradition made in 2023, the Governor’s Commission for Women will also honor the state’s “pioneer women” to recognize and remember the significant contributions of women from generations past as a source of inspiration for future generations. This new tradition allows us to celebrate these women’s stories and honor their legacy.

  • Melissa Dora Oliver Eakle (1860-1931) – In honor of her leadership as a business woman and philanthropist whose legacy lives on in Amarillo, TX today. The Governor’s Commission for Women recognizes her for her significant contributions to the culture, finance, business, and social life of Amarillo.

Previous Honorees

The Governor's Commission for Women would like to thank Texas Woman's University for developing the Hall of Fame website and for hosting the permanent exhibit on their campus in Denton.