Outstanding Women in Texas Government

The State Agency Council, formerly the State Agency Liaison Group, was established to provide support to the Governor’s Commission for Women and offers professional development training to its members.

The State Agency Council to the Governor’s Commission for Women is proud to announce the Outstanding Women in Texas Government Award recipients for 2020. This biennial award honors women in state service who are helping to shape the future of Texas by contributing their notable talents and skills. Candidates were nominated by their respective state agency leadership in four categories, and an independent committee selected the women whose contributions best exemplified the categories of Leadership, Professional Development, Community Involvement, and, new this year, Rising Star. View a list of past recipients.

2020 Award Recipients

Outstanding Leadership:  Shandra Carter, Deputy Executive Director for State Services, Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Outstanding Professional Development:  Rae Shel Lee, Sergeant, Texas Department of Public Safety

Outstanding Community Involvement:  Krystle Matthews, Women Veterans Program Manager, Texas Veterans Commission

Rising Star:  Endi Silva, Director of Program Development, Department of Information Resources