Governor Abbott Appoints Vasquez, Conroy To Texas Department Of Housing And Community Affairs

March 27, 2024 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has reappointed Leo Vasquez and appointed Cindy Conroy to the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA) for terms set to expire on January 31, 2029 and January 31, 2027, respectively. TDHCA is responsible for promoting and preserving homeownership, financing the development of affordable rental housing, supporting community and energy assistance programs, and other functions.

Leo Vasquez of Houston is a corporate finance and c-level business management consultant. He has served as a board member of the U.S. Global Leadership Coalition’s Texas Advisory Board and as an advisory board member of the Texas Policy Lab at Rice University, Houston’s Greater East End Management District, Harris County Appraisal District, and Harris County Health Facilities Development Corporation. He is the former Harris County tax assessor-collector and voter registrar, former chairman of the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation, and former two-time gubernatorial appointee to the Texas Board of Criminal Justice. Governor Abbott first appointed him to TDHCA in 2017 and named him chairman of the board in 2020. Vasquez received a bachelor’s degree from Yale University and a Master of Business Administration from Columbia University Graduate School of Business and a governance fellow designation from the National Association of Corporate Directors.

Cindy Conroy of El Paso is the director of community outreach and aide to the chairman of WestStar bank. Conroy serves as the chair of the El Paso Community College Foundation and the Heart Gallery of El Paso and is the immediate past chair of the United Way of El Paso County. She is a member of the board of El Paso Matters, Pioneer Association of El Paso County, Customer Advisory Partnership of El Paso Electric, and the State Bar of Texas Advertising Review Committee. She is a member of Leadership Texas class of 2007 and former member of the Texas Governor’s University Research Initiative Advisory Board. She is also the former chair of Girl Scouts of the Desert Southwest, former president of El Paso Executive Forum, and former board member of Leadership Women. Governor Abbott appointed her to the Governor’s Commission for Women in 2020 and has reappointed her twice. She is a 2023 Hunt-Aspen Institute Fellow and the recipient of El Paso Inc.’s “2022 Woman of Impact.” Conroy received a Master of Arts in Political Science from The University of Texas at El Paso.