Governor Abbott, First Lady Cecilia Abbott Honor 2016 Texas Women’s Hall Of Fame Inductees

October 21, 2016 | Austin, Texas | Press Release

Governor Greg Abbott and First Lady Cecilia Abbott today inducted five new honorees into the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame at Texas Woman’s University in Denton. Established in 1984, the Texas Women's Hall of Fame recognizes women who have attained significant achievements in areas such as the arts, community service, education, leadership, health, science and business. The biennial award winners are selected by a bi-partisan, independent panel of judges, based on nominations submitted by Texas residents.

“In Texas, we believe in the unlimited potential of women,” said Governor Greg Abbott. “We celebrate today's five honorees not only for their individual achievements, but also for their unique contributions to the strength of this great state. When women succeed in Texas, Texas succeeds.”

The Office of the Governor released the following video highlighting the stories and accomplishments of the 2016 Texas Women's Hall of Fame honorees:

The 2016 Inductees into the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame are:

More information about the Governor’s Commission for Women.

A list of past honorees and information on the Texas Women’s Hall of fame.