Governor Abbott Names Chair And Appoints Four To Texas Diabetes Council

March 2, 2016 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott appointed and named Kathy Ann LaCivita as chair of the Texas Diabetes Council for a term set to expire February 1, 2021. Governor Abbott also appointed Joan Colgin, Aida “Letty” Moreno-Brown and William “David” Sanders to the council for terms set to expire on February 1, 2021. The council addresses issues affecting people with diabetes in Texas and advises the Texas Legislature on legislation that is needed to develop and maintain a statewide system of quality education services to all people with diabetes and health professionals who offer diabetes treatment and education.

Kathy Ann LaCivita, MD of San Antonio serves as medical director and endocrinologist at Texas Diabetes Institute, and is an adjunct professor at the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio. She is a practicing endocrinologist who has been taking care of patients with diabetes for 25 years. Additionally, LaCivita served for 16 years in the United States Air Force medical corps. She is a fellow for the American College of Endocrinology and a member of the American College of Physicians, American Association of Clinical Endocrinologist and American Diabetes Association. LaCivita received a Bachelor of Science in Biological Sciences from the University of California at Irvine and a Doctor of Medicine from Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences.

Joan Colgin of Dallas is a registered nurse and certified diabetes educator. Previously, she served as Executive Medical Liaison at Novo Nordisk Inc. She serves as the Texas Advocacy Chair for the American Association of Diabetes Educators and is a member of the Advocacy Committee for the Texas Diabetes Council. Additionally, she is a member of the American Diabetes Association of Texas, American Association of Diabetes Educators, and previously served on the Dallas Area Agency on Aging Board. Colgin received a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from the University of Texas at Arlington.

Aida “Letty” Moreno-Brown of El Paso serves as regional lead dietitian for Fresenius Medical Care, and is an adjunct professor for the University of Texas at El Paso and El Paso Community College. She is a member of the Council on Renal Nutrition, Dietitians Advisory Board, and the El Paso Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Moreno-Brown received a Bachelor of Science in Family and Consumer Science from New Mexico State University and a Master of Science in Advanced Nutrition from New York University at Oneonta.

William “David” Sanders of Dallas is the founder of the Dallas Advisory Partners LLC, an advisory services firm focused on the innovation and optimization of technology and technology services companies serving the global market. He serves as chairman of the University of North Texas College of Arts and Science Advisory Board and is a member of the Texas Christian University MBA Experiential Learning Advisory Board and the US Global Leadership Coalition. Additionally, he has served as a member of the Information Technology Association of America and served as its chairman. Sanders received a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from the United States Military Academy at West Point and an Executive Master of Business Administration from the Owen School of Management at Vanderbilt University.