Governor Abbott Appoints Five To Texas Board Of Nursing

June 7, 2018 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Melissa Schat to the Texas Board of Nursing for a term set to expire on January 31, 2019 and appointed Mazie Mathews Jamison and Kimberly “Kim” Wright for terms set to expire on January 31, 2023. Additionally, the Governor reappointed Doris Jackson, D.H.A. and Verna "Kathy" Shipp for terms set to expire on January 31, 2023. The board oversees the practice of professional nursing, examination of students, and standards of professional conduct for license holders. The board also prescribes and publishes the minimum requirements and standards for course studies in various nursing degree programs.

Melissa Schat of Granbury is a pediatric nurse with Cook Children’s Medical Center-Rheumatology Department, where she focuses on clinical support of staff, patients and families. Additionally, she provides patient education, phone triage, and monitors quality improvement in her department. Her clinical experience includes home health, medical-surgical, school nursing, and rheumatology. She is a member of the Arthritis Foundation-Juvenile Arthritis Committee of North Texas. Schat received a vocational nursing certificate from Weatherford College.

Mazie Mathews Jamison of Dallas retired as chief public policy officer of Children’s Medical Center in North Texas, prior to that, she served as director of public policy for the Kaiser Foundation Health Plan. She is past chair of the Dallas Area Legislative Coalition and co-chair of the Leadership Dallas Alumni Association Social Committee. She has served as an executive committee member on the North Dallas Chamber of Commerce, member of the Kilgore College Foundation Board of Directors, and previous president and current board member of the Kilgore College Rangerettes Forever Board of Directors. Mazie received a Bachelor of Arts from The University of Texas at Austin and a Master of Arts from Texas State University.

Kimberly “Kim” Wright of Big Spring is a licensed vocational nurse in the primary care outpatient clinic at West Texas Veteran’s Health Administration. Previously, she worked as a BLS Instructor at Howard College, field nurse at Encompass Home Health, and school nurse at Big Spring Independent School District. She currently serves as secretary for the LVN Boards Committee at West Texas Veteran’s Health Administration. Wright received a vocational nursing diploma from Howard College. 

Doris Jackson DHA, MSN, RN of Pearland is a registered nurse and serves as Interim Dean of Health and Human Services/Director of Nursing for the associate degree nursing program at Lone Star College – North Harris. In addition, she is a board member on the Fort Bend County Black Nurses Association, and a member of the National Black Nurses Association, Society of Pediatric Nurses, Texas Nurses Association, American Nurses Association, Texas Community College Teachers Association, National Organization for Associate Degree Nursing, Texas Organization for Associate Degree Nursing, and the Wellness Ministry at Brentwood Baptist Church.  Dr. Jackson received a bachelor of science (BSN) and a master of science (MSN) in Nursing Leadership from Prairie View A&M University. She received a Doctorate in Health Administration from Capella University.

Verna "Kathy" Shipp of Lubbock is a nurse practitioner and is on the faculty for the Family Nurse Practitioner Program at West Texas A&M University. She sees family planning patients part time for South Plains Public Health District. She is a member of the American and Texas Nurse associations and the American, Texas, and South Plains Nurse Practitioner associations. She is a past member of Sigma Theta Tau National Honor Society for Nursing and the Texas Health Disparities Task Force. Additionally, she volunteers with the Parkridge Pregnancy Medical Clinic. Shipp received a Bachelor of Science in nursing from West Texas State University, Master of Science in nursing from The University of Texas at Austin, and a family nurse practitioner certificate from West Texas A&M University and a master's degree from the University of Texas. Shipp will continue serving as chair of the board, she was first appointed as chair in 2012.