Texas Women’s Hall Of Fame

The Governor's Commission for Women established the Texas Women's Hall of Fame in 1984 to honor the State's most accomplished women. Inductees include first ladies, teachers, astronauts, and athletes.

The Texas Women's Hall of Fame biennial awards ceremony recognizes the achievements of women. Texas residents submit nominations and an independent panel of judges selects the recipients who will be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

2020-2021 Hall of Fame Honorees

Governor Greg Abbott and the Governor’s Commission for Women are pleased to announce the 2020-2021 Texas Women’s Hall of Fame Honorees. Recognized for outstanding achievement and for changing the course of history, these women have been selected for induction into the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame for outstanding achievement and for changing the course of history.

  • Lauren Anderson (Arts) - In recognition of her boundary breaking and distinguished artistic achievements in the world of ballet and her generosity in inspiring children to reach for the stars.  
  • Charlye Ola Farris (Legal Profession) - In recognition of her pioneering role and 56 years in the legal profession paving the way for others by overcoming adversity with dignity and perseverance.
  • Dawn Ferrell, Major General (Ret.), USAF (Military Service) - In recognition of her exemplary leadership and significant contributions to our state and nation in both military service and higher education.
  • Kendra Scott (Business) - In recognition of her extraordinary entrepreneurial spirit, remarkable business leadership, and passionate philanthropy in support of women and children’s causes.
  • Elaine Stolte (Community Service) - In recognition of her decades of service and national leadership as a tireless advocate, bringing healing and giving a voice to children who are survivors of sexual abuse.
  • Ofelia Vasquez-Philo (Civic Leadership) - In recognition of her legacy of community service and trailblazing leadership in support of civil rights and the preservation of Hispanic arts, culture, and heritage.   

Previous Honorees

The Governor's Commission for Women would like to thank Texas Woman's University for developing the Hall of Fame website and for hosting the permanent exhibit on their campus in Denton.