Governor Abbott Appoints Three To Department Of Information Resources

April 11, 2017 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Abbott has appointed Sonya Medina Williams and reappointed Ben Gatzke to the governing board of the Department of Information Resources (DIR) for terms set to expire on February 1, 2023. The Governor additionally appointed Jeffrey Tayon to DIR for a term set to expire on February 1, 2021. DIR coordinates, monitors, and directs information resources management within state government.

Sonya Medina Williams of San Antonio is a consultant in the area of community partnerships, strategy, fundraising, marketing, and governmental affairs. She is a member of the Papa John's International Board of Directors, San Antonio Women’s Hall of Fame and Texas Lyceum. Additionally, she is a board member of the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce and chair of the San Antonio Chamber of Commerce Economic Development Executive Committee. Medina Williams received a Bachelor of Science from Texas A&M University in College Station and a Master of Public Health in health policy and administration from Columbia University.

Ben Gatzke of Fort Worth is president and CEO of BorrowWorks. He is a member of the Jewel Charity and board member of the Baylor University School of Music Board. Gatzke received a Bachelor of Music, Master of Business Administration and a Master of Science in information systems from Baylor University.

Jeffrey Tayon of Houston is an independent investor focusing on commercial real estate development and management. He is a member of the State Bar of Texas, District of Columbia Bar, U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Bar and Texas Bar Foundation. Tayon received a Bachelor of Science in architectural engineering from Colorado University and a Juris Doctor from John Marshall Law School.