Governor Abbott Appoints Six To Texas Juvenile Justice Board

January 6, 2017 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Pama Hencerling and Fred Henneke to the Texas Juvenile Justice Board for terms set to expire February 1, 2017 and appointed Edeska Barnes, Jr., Lisa Jarrett, Candy Noble and Wes Ritchey for terms set to expire February 1, 2021. The board is charged with developing and implementing rules to govern the department, executive director and staff, and to establish the mission and set goals for the department to emphasize keeping youth in home communities while balancing rehabilitative needs with public safety.

Pama Hencerling of Victoria is the chief juvenile probation officer of Victoria and Goliad Counties. She is past president of the Texas Institute on Children and Youth and a member of the Central Texas Chiefs Association, Texas Probation Association and the Juvenile Justice Associate of Texas. Hencerling received a Bachelor of Science from Sam Houston State University.

Fred Henneke of Kerrville is an attorney and counselor at law. He previously served as the Kerr County Judge. He also is an adjunct professor of history and political science at Schreiner University. Henneke received a Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science and a Master of Arts from the University of Oklahoma. After serving in the United States Army and the Foreign Service of the U.S. Department of State, he received a Juris Doctor from Georgetown University Law Center.

Edeska Barnes, Jr. of Jasper is the chief juvenile probation officer for the First Judicial District Juvenile Probation Department. He is on the board of directors for the Texas Probation Association, a member of Deep East Texas Council of Government and a facilitator for the New Chiefs Development Program for Correctional Management Institute of Texas at Sam Houston State University. Barnes received a Bachelor of Science from Lamar University.

Lisa Jarrett of San Antonio is Judge of the 436th District Court.  She is a member of Friends of Communities in Schools, co-chair of the Community Justice Project and fellow of the San Antonio Bar Foundation and the Texas Bar Foundation. Jarrett received a Bachelor of Arts from The University of Texas at Austin and a Juris Doctor from the University of Houston Law Center.

Candy Noble of Lucas previously served on the Collin County Child Protective Services Board.  She volunteers as the co-chair the Alumni Committee on the Hardin-Simons University Board of Development. Noble received a Bachelor of Education from Hardin-Simons University.

Wes Ritchey of Dalhart is the county judge of Dallam County. He is a member of the Texas Association of Counties and the Panhandle County Judge & Commissioners Association and volunteers for the Dallam County 4-H and the Dalhart Area Child Care Center as Board President. Ritchey received a Bachelor of Arts from Texas Tech University.