Governor Abbott Reappoints Three to Upper Guadalupe River Authority

March 16, 2021 | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott reappointed Austin Dickson, Diane McMahon, and Blake Smith to terms set to expire on February 1, 2027. The river authority is responsible for control, storing, preservation, and distribution of the waters of the Upper Guadalupe River and its tributaries.

Austin Dickson of Kerrville is the executive director of the Community Foundation of the Texas Hill Country, a charitable foundation in the region. He is a member of the Kerr County Historical Association and the Rotary Club of Kerrville. Dickson received a Bachelor of Arts from Texas Christian University and a Master of Science in public policy from the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Diane McMahon of Kerrville is retired from the aerospace community, having been employed by United Space Alliance, NASA. She was an Experiment Support Scientist and Payload Integration Manager for the Space Shuttle and International Space Station programs. She is a trustee on the Guadalupe-Blanco River Trust, a collector for Upper Guadalupe River Authority's ongoing Summer Water Quality program, and a life member of the Galveston Bay Foundation. Additionally, she is active as a Master Naturalist and Master Gardener, and previously, served on the Headwaters Groundwater Conservation District board. McMahon received a Bachelor of Science and Master of Science in Biological Sciences from the University of Houston, Clear Lake.

Blake Smith of Hunt is the owner and executive director of Camp La Junta. He is a member of the American Camping Association, and member and past president of the Camping Association for Mutual Progress. He is currently on the board of directors of the Arcadia Live theater foundation. He is the former president and member of Hunt ISD Board of Trustees and Kerrville Public Utility Board, as well as the board of the Our Lady of the Hills high school. Smith received a Bachelor of Arts in Biology from Trinity University.

These appointments are subject to Senate confirmation.