Governor Abbott Reappoints Thirteen To Pediatric Acute-Onset Neuropsychiatric Syndrome Advisory Council

September 9, 2021 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has reappointed thirteen members to the Pediatric Acute-Onset Neuropsychiatric Syndrome Advisory Council for terms set to expire on August 31, 2023. The council advises the commission and the legislature on research, diagnosis, treatment, and education related to pediatric acute-onset neuropsychiatric syndrome.

Brandon Brock, D.N.P., D.C. of Sunnyvale Texas is a doctorate level certified family nurse practitioner and a clinician at Carpathia Collaborative in Dallas Texas. Brock holds a Doctorate in Chiropractic from Parker University and a Doctorate in Family Nursing Practice from Duke University while having post-doctorate training as a Global Clinical Research Scholar from Harvard Medical School. He has also attended Duke Medical Center for specialization in orthopedics and has completed a fellowship in regenerative medicine. He is currently working on a Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) at Texas Woman’s University.

Kara Chasteen of Bertram was an educator and worked in insurance services before spending timing raising her children. She formerly served on the Board of Directors for the Burnet County Livestock Show, the Williamson/Burnet Counties Opportunities Board and has worked to raise money for 4H & FFA Clubs for many years. Chasteen received a Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Economics from Tarleton State University and Master of Education in IT from West Texas A&M University.

Anne Esquivel, Ph.D. of New Braunfels is a clinical psychologist and owner of Mind Works. She is a member of the American Association of Play Therapists and is former president of the Bexar County Psychological Association. Esquivel received a bachelor’s degree in International Studies from Auburn University at Montgomery, a master’s degree in Counseling Psychology from National University and a Doctor of Philosophy in Clinical Psychology from the United States International University. 

Lisa Formby of Hereford a school nurse at Hereford ISD. She is the past president and current secretary of Texas School Nurses Organization and a member of the National Association of School Nurses and Region 16 School Nurses. She is a board member of BRIDGE and a former board member of the American Red Cross. She also volunteers with the American Cancer Society and the American Heart Association. Formby received a nursing degree from Northwest Texas Hospital School of Nursing.

Dan Freeland, D.O. of Lakeway is an Osteopathic Physician, owner, and medical director for Bee Caves Family Practice. He is past president and current member of the Texas Society of American College of Osteopathic Family Practice. Additionally, he is a member of the American College of Osteopathic Family Practice, and serves as chair of the Osteopathic Clinical Research Committee and vice-chair of the credentials committee. He is a member of the American Osteopathic Association, Texas Osteopathic Medical Associate, American Osteopathic College of Occupational and Preventative Medicine, Texas Medical Association, and Travis County Medical Society. Freeland received a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry from Truman State University and a Doctor of Osteopathy from AT Still University Medical School. He served as a Captain in the medical corps and was honorable discharged from the United States Air Force.

Sarah Garrett of Spicewood is the Founder and Executive Director of the Phoenix Center and a Registered Play Therapist and licensed psychotherapist with over 20 years of experience with children and families. She is a member of NASW and the American Association for Play Therapy.  She volunteered with CASA. Garrett received a Bachelor of Arts in Art from the University of Texas at Austin and a master’s degree in Clinical Social Work from the University of Houston.

Suzanne Gazda, M.D. of San Antonio is a senior partner of the Neurology Institute of San Antonio and owner and director of Gazda Integrative Neurology. She is also co-director of the PANS and PANDAS Center of South Texas. She is a member of the International Society of Environmental Medicine, American Academy of Neurology, American Society of Antiaging Medicine, Texas Neurological Association, ILADS, and the Institute of Functional Medicine. Gazda received a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from The University of Texas at Austin and a Doctor of Medicine from The University of Texas Health Science Center Medical School.

Lisa Hardy is the former president and executive director of the Children’s Autoimmune Brain Disorder Association which merged with Alliance to Solve PANS and Immune Related Encephalopathies. Hardy graduated from Georgia Baptist School of Nursing and worked as a Registered Nurse for 10 years in surgical and open heart intensive care. She currently serves as an advisor for the Alliance to Solve PANS Board.

Qazi Javed, M.D. of Austin is a psychiatrist at Integrated Psychiatry-Austin. He is a member of the American Psychiatric Association, Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians, Texas Medical Association, Integrative Providers of Austin, and Austin Wellness Collaborative. Javed received a Bachelor of Medicine at King Edward Medical College and a Bachelor of Science at Punjab University.

Paula Kruppstadt, M.D. of The Woodlands is the owner, CEO, and medical director at Hope for Healing. She is a Diplomat of the American Board of Pediatrics, Fellow of the American Academy of Pediatrics, an Institute for Functional Medicine Certified Practitioner, and member of the American Academy of Ozone Therapy, International Lyme and Associated Diseases Society, and International Society for Environmentally Acquired Illness. Kruppstadt received a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology at The University of Texas at Dallas and a Doctor of Medicine degree at The University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio. She completed a Pediatric Internship and Residency at William Beaumont Army Medical Center at Fort Bliss, Texas. She served in United States Army Medical Corps and was honorably discharged in 1995. Before opening her functional medicine and general pediatrics practice in 2015, she worked as a general pediatrician in various venues, including Texas Children’s Pediatrics and Texas Children’s Urgent Care, and she also served as a pediatric hospitalist and faculty for Baylor College of Medicine at St. Luke’s Hospital in The Woodlands, Texas.

Sharon Lemons of Saginaw is the Dietitian Sr of MHMR of Tarrant County. She currently serves as the House of Delegates Representative for the Behavioral Health Nutrition Council Dietary Practice Group. Lemons received an undergraduate degree in Dietetics and Institutional Administration and a graduate degree in nutrition at Texas Woman’s University.

Amy Offutt, M.D. of Marble Falls is the medical director and owner of Heart and Soul Integrative Health and Yoga. She is a member of the Texas Medical Association. Offutt received a Bachelor of Science in Biology from Abilene Christian University, a Doctor of Medicine at The University of Texas Health San Antonio, a Master of Arts in Integrative Medicine at George Washington University, and completed her family medicine residency at Christus Santa Rosa in San Antonio.

Nathan Pullen of Austin is the Autism Coordinator of Texas Education Agency. He is a member of the Association for Applied Behavior Analysis, Texas Association for Behavior Analysis, Association of Professional Behavior Analysts, Council for Exceptional Children, and National Association of Special Education Teachers. Pullen received a Bachelor of Arts in Biology and Ethics from Baylor University and a Master of Education in Applied Behavior Analysis: Autism from Texas State University. Pullen ​is a Board Certified Behavior Analyst, certified teacher, and also received his Principal Certification from Lamar University.