Governor Abbott Reappoints Four To One-Call Board Of Texas

November 18, 2020 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has reappointed William “Bill” Geise, Joseph Costa, George Spencer and Christopher Nowak to the One Call Board of Texas for terms set to expire on August 31, 2023. The board has authority over “Call Before You Dig” systems that notify the underground facility operators for excavation plans so pipelines and utility lines can be marked to prevent accidents.

William “Bill” Geise of Austin is retired and formally served as Director of the Gas Services Division for the Texas Railroad Commission. Geise received a Bachelor of Business Administration from The University of Texas at Austin.

Joseph Costa of DeSoto is the Chief of Police for the DeSoto Police Department. He is a member of the International Association of Chiefs of Police, North Texas Police Chief’s Association, Texas Police Chief’s Association, and the Regional Organized Crime Information Center Executive Board. Costa received a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from St. Bonaventure University and a Master of Arts in Criminal Justice from Boston University.

George Spencer of Austin is Associate Vice President for AT&T. He is a member of the Texas eHealth Alliance Executive Committee. Spencer received a Bachelor of Science from California State University, Long Beach and a Master of Business Administration from Concordia University.   

Christopher Nowak of Cypress is operations director for Kinder Morgan. He has held many roles throughout his career in the areas of operations, research, environmental, engineering, and compliance. Additionally, he is experienced in emergency response and public awareness and has participated in several Local Emergency Planning Committees and Incident Commander Forums. He is a member of the Pipeline Research Council International. Nowak received a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Western New England College.