Governor Abbott Names President And Appoints Four To Red River Authority of Texas Board of Directors

December 6, 2019 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has reappointed Zackary “Zack” Smith and Stephen Thornhill and appointed Mary Lou Bradley to the Red River Authority of Texas Board of Directors for terms set to expire on August 11, 2025. Additionally, the Governor appointed Jerry Dan Davis for a term set to expire on August 11, 2023 and named Todd Boykin president of the board. The Red River Authority provides for the control, conservation and development of the watershed and water of the Red River and its Texas tributaries.

Zackary “Zack” Smith of Canyon is general manager of Rabern. He is president of Texas Scottish Rite Hospital-Emi’s Colorful Future Foundation, volunteer with Boy Scouts Golden Spread Council, and a member of Hereford Lions Club and the American Rental Association. In addition, he is the vice-president of the Deaf Smith Chamber of Commerce and a former member of the Class of 2018 Amarillo Chamber of Commerce Top 20 Under 40 Business Professionals. Smith received a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture Development from West Texas A&M University.

Stephen Thornhill of Denison is a financial advisor with the Schweizer-Thornhill Wealth Management Group and is president of Thornhill Oil & Gas, Inc. He holds the Chartered Retirement Planning Counselor(Sm) professional designation at Wells Fargo Advisors in Sherman, Texas, as well as the Series 7, 31, 63, and 65 licenses along with an insurance and variable annuity license. He is a member of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, past president and a current member of the Petroleum Engineers Club of Dallas, secondary committee advisor for Southwestern Engineering Scholarship Fund, and a Deacon at Parkside Baptist Church. Thornhill received a Bachelor of Science in Geology and Environmental Studies and a Master of Science in Geology from Baylor University.

Mary Lou Bradley of Childress is president of Bradley 3 Management Corporation. She is a member of Texas Cattle Feeders Association, Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association, and the American Angus Association. Bradley received a Bachelor of Business Administration in Accounting from Midwestern State University.

Jerry Dan Davis of Wellington is an owner and operator of a farm and ranch operation located in Collingsworth, Childress, and Hall counties. He formerly served on the Wellington ISD School Board, Collingsworth County Library Board, Panhandle Peanut Growers Association, Farmers Co-Op Gin Board, and the Collingsworth County Agricultural Advisory Board. Davis received a bachelor’s degree in general agriculture from West Texas A&M University.

Todd Boykin of Amarillo is a partner in the law firm of Burdett Morgan Williamson & Boykin, LLP. He is a member of the State Bar of Texas and is board certified in Commercial and Residential Real Estate Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Boykin received a Bachelor of Arts from Texas Tech University and a Juris Doctor degree from Baylor University School of Law.