Governor Abbott Names Chair And Reappoints Three To Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority Board of Directors

November 9, 2020 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed William Carbonara, Steve Ehrig, and Don Meador to the Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority Board of Directors (GBRA) for terms set to expire on February 1, 2025. Additionally, the Governor named Dennis Patillo chair of the board. GBRA oversees water resources for the communities in its 10 county district.

William Carbonara of Cuero is vice president of RNC Insurance Agency. He is a Certified Insurance Counselor and a member of the Rotary Club and the Cuero Chamber of Commerce, where he has served as treasurer. Previously, he served on the Boys and Girls Club of DeWitt County Board and the Cuero Development Corporation. He is a volunteer coach for his children's sports activities such as baseball, basketball, soccer and football. Carbonara received a Bachelor of Business Administration and a Master of Business Administration from the University of the Incarnate Word. 

Steve Ehrig of Gonzales is owner and partner of Ehrig Brothers Ag, E-BARR Feeds, and E Brothers Ranches. He is a member of the Gonzales County Young Farmers, past president of the Texas Young Farmers, and a director with the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. He is a member of the Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership Program, Gonzales County Agents’ Advisory Board, the Benevolent and Protective Order of the Elks, Texas & Southwest Cattle Raisers Association, and a past board member of the Gonzales County Underground Water Conservation District. Additionally, he is a past vice president of Gonzales Chamber of Commerce and Agriculture Board of Directors, a former announcer for the Gonzales Livestock Show Association, past president of the Gonzales County Farm Bureau, and past president of the Gonzales County Appraisal District Agriculture Advisory Board.

Don Meador of San Marcos is a retired rancher and registered engineer with Procter & Gamble Company, and represents Hays County. He is joint owner of Dreamcatcher Ranch at the headwaters of the San Marcos River. The ranch is protected in a conservation easement to safeguard the watershed for perpetuity. He also is past president of the Hays County Farm Bureau, past board vice-chair of the Hays County Water Conservation District, and a former commissioner of the City of Coppell Planning and Zoning Commission. Additionally, he is a past member of the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association and American Angus Association, and a past board member of the Texas Angus Association. He is a U.S. Army veteran, and received a Bachelor of Science from Texas Tech University and a Master of Science in Industrial Engineering from Oklahoma State University.

Dennis Patillo of Victoria is president of Stewart Title of the Coastal Bend Inc., providing title services in Victoria, DeWitt, Calhoun, Wharton, Goliad, Uvalde and Real counties. He is also president of Evangelynn Hospitality LLC, past chairman of the Victoria Economic Development Corporation, the Houston Association of Realtors, and the Texas Association of Realtors. Patillo has served on a number of boards and commissions including the Texas Tax Reform Commission, the University of Houston Commission on Downward Expansion, the Victoria County Airport Commission, and DeTar Healthcare Board of Trustees. Patillo received a Bachelor of Science in Political Science from the University of Houston.