Governor Abbott Names Chair And Appoints Four To Board Of The Texas Department Of Motor Vehicles

March 26, 2019 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Texas Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Stacey Gillman, Tammy McRae, and Charles Bacarisse to the Board of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles for terms set to expire on February 1, 2025. The Governor additionally appointed Shelley Washburn to a term set to expire on February 1, 2021. Governor Abbott has named Guillermo “Memo” Trevino chair of the board. The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles serves, protects, and advances citizens and industries in the state with quality motor vehicle related services.

Stacey Gillman of Houston is President of Gillman Companies, has been a dealer for 25 years, which includes 10 dealerships in four cities in Texas representing 11 new car franchises.  She is past Chairman of Texas Automobile Dealers Association, Houston Automobile Dealers Association, and the National Dealer Council for Subaru of America.  She is on the board of St. Luke’s United Methodist Church, 1st Tennessee Bank and Buffalo Bayou Partnership in Houston.  She was appointed by Governor Perry to serve on the Economic Development Committee. Gillman attended the University of Texas, General Motors Dealer Management program and National Automobile Dealer Association Dealer Candidate Academy. 

Tammy McRae of Conroe is the Tax Assessor-Collector for Montgomery County. She is Vice President- Internal of the Tax Assessor-Collectors Association of Texas, member of Texas Association of Assessing Officers, Texas School Assessors Association, Texas Association of Appraisal Districts, and Government Finance Officers Association. In addition, she is a member of Rotary Club of The Woodlands, Montgomery County Area Business Women, The Woodlands Chamber of Commerce, Conroe/Lake Conroe Chamber of Commerce, Magnolia Chamber of Commerce, and Greater East Montgomery Chamber of Commerce. McRae received certification from the Tax Assessor-Collectors Association of Texas and the Board of Tax Professionals & Examiners of Texas.

Charles Bacarisse of Houston if vice president of major gifts at Houston Baptist University. He is a board member of the Association of Fundraising Professionals - Houston Chapter and board member of the Department of Information Resources. Bacarisse served for 13 years as the District Clerk of Harris County, and is a former board member of County and District Clerks Association of Texas, Neighborhood Centers Inc., and Downtown Houston Association. Bacarisse received a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Fine Arts from Southern Methodist University.

Shelley Washburn of Houston is president of GSM. She is on the Executive Board of Child Advocates, Inc., and a member or the United Way Women’s Initiative and the American Marketing Association. She is a past president of Women’s Automotive International. Washburn received her Bachelor of Business Administration in marketing from the University of Texas at Austin.

Guillermo “Memo” Trevino of Laredo is president of Southern Distributing.  He currently serves on the Board of Directors of BBVA Compass USA, the Board of Trustees of Rice University, and the Holdsworth Center.  He is also a member of the Council on Foreign Relations.  He previously served as a Director of the San Antonio Branch of the Dallas Federal Reserve and as a member of the Board of International Bank of Commerce. He has also served as president of the Laredo Chamber of Commerce, the Laredo Development Foundation, the Washington’s Birthday Celebration Association, and as Jefe de los Caballeros de la Republica del Rio Grande.  Trevino received a Bachelor of Arts from Rice University and received an Option II MBA from the University of Texas at Austin.

These appointments are subject to Senate confirmation.