Governor Abbott Names Chair And Appoints Five To Texas State Board Of Public Accountancy

September 29, 2017 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Manuel Cavazos, IV, James Ingram, IV, Lisa A. Friel, Jamie D. Grant, and Debra Sharp to the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy for terms set to expire on January 31, 2023. Additionally, the Governor named Cavazos as presiding officer of the board. The board protects the public by ensuring that persons issued certificates as certified public accountants (CPAs) possess the necessary education, skills and capabilities and that they perform competently in the profession of public accountancy.

Manuel Cavazos, IV of Austin is a self-employed CPA and Attorney. He is a member of the Texas Society of CPAs, American Bar Association and California State Bar. He is a former board member of the Greater Austin Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, a former board member and treasurer of the Texas Society to Prevent Blindness, and past chair of the Texas Credit Union Commission. Cavazos received a Bachelor of Arts in economics from The University of Texas at Austin and a Juris Doctor from Taft Law School.

James D. Ingram, IV of Bryan is the president of Ingram, Wallis & Company, P.C. He is a member of Texas Society of CPAs and the American Institute of CPAs and a member and former treasurer of the Bryan-College Station Chamber of Commerce. He is former treasurer of the Brazos Valley Museum and former president of Bryan Viking Booster Club and Briarcrest Country Club. Ingram received a Bachelor of Business Administration in accounting from Texas A&M University.

Lisa A. Friel of San Antonio is a managing partner at Ernst & Young. She is a member of the Texas Society of CPAs and the American Institute of CPAs. Additionally, she is the treasurer of the San Antonio Economic Development Foundation, board member of the San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, vice chair in the San Antonio Medical Foundation, founding partner of Social Venture Partners San Antonio, and the audit committee chair for the United Way of San Antonio and Bexar County. Friel received a Bachelor of Science in business and accounting from the University of Kansas. 

Jamie D. Grant of Arlington is the president of JDG Wealth Management Group, LLC, and has earned over seventeen years of experience as a financial planner. He is a former chairman of the Fort Worth Metropolitan Black Chamber of Commerce, board member of the Arlington Chamber of Commerce, former board member of the North Texas Commission and a member of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, INC. Grant received a Bachelor of Arts in economics from Grambling State University.

Debra Sharp of Houston is the president of SCI, Inc. She is a member of the American Society of Pension Professionals and Actuaries and president of the Sterling Group-Professional Women’s Network Group of Houston. Sharp received a Bachelor of Business in business administration from the University of Houston.