Governor Abbott Names Chair And Appoints Bailey To Texas Facilities Commission

April 8, 2019 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Brian Bailey to the Texas Facilities Commission for a term set to expire on January 31, 2021. Additionally, the Governor has named William Allensworth chair. The commission controls state buildings, grounds, or property and responsibility for maintenance, repair and construction of state buildings for the state.

William Allensworth of Austin is an attorney who practiced in the firm he founded, Allensworth and Porter, LLP, until his retirement in 2016. He was the adjunct professor of Construction Law for nearly 30 semesters at The University of Texas School of Law. He is a member of the State Bar of Texas, a Fellow of the American College of Construction Lawyers, and an honorary member of the Texas Society of Architects. He was a founding member of the Construction Law Section of the State Bar of Texas, a former board chairman of St. Andrew’s Episcopal School, and was a volunteer firefighter and later Fire Commissioner for Travis County Emergency Services District No. 9. He currently is on the Board of the Cambridge Tower Homeowner Association. Allensworth received a Bachelor of Arts in history and economics from Austin College, a Juris Doctor degree from Texas Tech University School of Law. Prior to attending law school, he served as a lieutenant in the United States Marine Corps, including a year with Battery K, 4th Battalion, 11th Marine Regiment in the former Republic of Vietnam.

Brian Bailey of Austin is president of Brian A. Bailey Homes. He is currently serving as a gubernatorial appointee on the Texas Industrialized Building Code Council and is a member of the Austin Crime Commission and The University of Texas Chancellor’s Council Executive Committee. Bailey received a Bachelor of Business Administration in finance from The University of Texas at Austin and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Houston.

This appointment is subject to Senate confirmation.