Governor Abbott Names Bugg Chairman Of Texas Transportation Commission

September 19, 2017 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has named J. Bruce Bugg, Jr. Chairman of the Texas Transportation Commission. The Texas Transportation Commission governs the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) and is responsible for policymaking regarding the state’s highway system, developing a statewide transportation plan, assisting the development of public transportation and adopting rules for TxDOT’s operation.
J. Bruce Bugg, Jr. of San Antonio is chairman and CEO of Argyle Investment Co., LLC, chairman, president and CEO of Southwest Bancshares, Inc., Texas Hill Country Bancshares, Inc., and Capitol of Texas Bancshares, Inc., and chairman of The Bank of San Antonio and The Bank of Austin. He is chairman and trustee of The Tobin Endowment, co-founder and founding chairman of the Bexar County Performing Arts Center Foundation, which owns and operates the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts in San Antonio, and former chairman of the UT Health Cancer Center Board of Governors. Additionally, he is a board member of the Texas Cultural Trust, Texas Biomedical Research Institute and the San Antonio Chamber of Commerce. Bugg received a Bachelor of Business Administration and a Juris Doctor from Southern Methodist University.