Governor Abbott Issues Proclamation To Expand Hospital Capacity In Four Additional Texas Counties

June 30, 2020 | Austin, Texas | Proclamation

WHEREAS, I, Greg Abbott, Governor of Texas, issued a disaster proclamation on March 13, 2020, certifying under Section 418.014 of the Texas Government Code that the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) poses an imminent threat of disaster for all counties in the State of Texas; and

WHEREAS, in each subsequent month effective through today, I have renewed the disaster declaration for all Texas counties; and

WHEREAS, I issued Executive Order GA-27 on June 25, 2020, relating to the need for increased hospital capacity during the COVID-19 disaster; and

WHEREAS, Executive Order GA-27 provided that its list of covered counties could be adjusted by proclamation thereafter;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Greg Abbott, Governor of Texas, by virtue of the power and authority vested in me by the Constitution and laws of the State of Texas, do hereby add the following counties, effective at 11:59 p.m. on Wednesday, July 1, 2020, to the list set forth in Executive Order GA-27:

Cameron County;

Hidalgo County;

Nueces County; and

Webb County. 

This proclamation shall remain in effect and in full force for as long as Executive Order GA-27 is in effect and in full force, unless otherwise modified, amended, rescinded, or superseded by the governor.

Governor Greg Abbott 

View the proclamation