Governor Abbott Appoints Three To Texas County And District Retirement System Board Of Trustees

March 28, 2024 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Ronald “Ronnie” Keister and reappointed Susan Fletcher and Mary Louise Nicholson to the Texas County and District Retirement System Board of Trustees for terms set to expire on December 31, 2029. The Board exists to provide Texas County and district employees with retirement, disability, and survivor benefits.

Ronald “Ronnie” Keister of Lubbock is the Lubbock County tax assessor/collector where he has served since 2009. He is a member and former president of the Tax Assessor Collector Association of Texas. He is a booster club volunteer for Trinity Christian School, deacon for Trinity Church, and member of the Lubbock Lions Club. Keister received a Bachelor of Science in Organizational Management from Lubbock Christian University.

Susan Fletcher of Frisco is Commissioner of Precinct 1 in Collin County where she has served since 2014. She is a director of the Texas Conference of Urban Counties Executive Board and serves on Collin County’s Investment Committee. Previously, she served on the University of North Texas Master Planning Committee for the new Frisco Campus and boards of other civic and community organizations. She is a graduate of the Commissioners Court Leadership Academy (Class VI) through Texas A&M University V.G. Young Institute, Texas Associations of Counties (TAC) Leadership 254 (Class I,) and TAC’s Core Legislative Group. Governor Abbott first appointed her to the Texas County and District Retirement System Board of Trustees in 2019, and she previously served on the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy from 2013-2019. Fletcher received a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Commercial Interior Design from the University of North Texas.

Mary Louise Nicholson of Fort Worth is the Tarrant County Clerk, where she has served since 2011. She is the legislative co-chair for the upcoming 89th Legislative Session for the County and District Clerks’ Association of Texas (CDCAT) and vice chair of the Tarrant County Bail Bond Board and the Tarrant County Elections Commission. She is a member of the Property Records Industry Association, TAC, and the CDCAT. She has served on the Texas County and District Retirement System Board of Trustees since 2013 and currently serves as chair. Nicholson received a Bachelor of Arts in Criminal Justice from The University of Texas at Arlington.