Governor Abbott Appoints Six To Texas School Safety Center Board

March 22, 2023 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Melissa Dunbar and reappointed Edwin Flores, Ph. D., James Mosley, Noe E. Perez, Michael Slaughter, and Jill Tate to the Texas School Safety Center Board for terms set to expire February 1, 2025. The Board reports to the Governor, the legislature, the State Board of Education, and the Texas Education Agency regarding school safety and security and advises the Center on its function, budget, and strategic planning initiatives.

Melissa Dunbar of Center Point is a principal for the Medina Independent School District. She received a Bachelor of Arts in English, a Master of Education, and principal certification from Schreiner University.

Edwin Flores, Ph.D. of Dallas is the managing partner at Chalker Flores, LLP and is a member of the Dallas Independent School District (ISD) Board. He is a member of the State Bar of Texas and the United States Patent and Trademark Office. He volunteers on the board of the Mary Crowley Cancer Research Centers, Dallas Central Appraisal District, and the Medical City Hospital Dallas. Flores received a Bachelor of Science in Microbiology from The University of Texas at Austin (UT), a Doctor of Philosophy in Immunology from Washington University, and a Juris Doctor from UT School of Law.

James Mosley of Borger is the Judge of the 316th District Court. Judge Mosley was previously appointed by Governor Abbott to the Crime Victims’ Institute Advisory Council. He is a member of the State Bars of Texas and Colorado, American Board of Trial Advocates, and the Administration of the Rules of Evidence Committee for the State Bar of Texas. He volunteers with local Boy Scout troops and is a lifetime member of both the Veterans of Foreign Wars and American Legion. Mosley received a Bachelor of Science in Finance from the University of Colorado, a Master’s in Public Administration from Troy State University, and a Juris Doctor from the University of Denver. Additionally, he was honorably discharged from the United States Air Force at the rank of Captain.

Noe E. Perez of Laguna Vista is a social studies teacher for the Los Fresnos Consolidated Independent School District, where he teaches U.S. government and personal financial literacy at Los Fresnos High School. He has over 30 years of teaching experience, including as an adjunct instructor with UT at Brownsville. He has authored historical articles published by UT Rio Grande Valley and Texas Southmost College and by the Texas State Historical Association Handbook of Texas Online. He is a former volunteer for the March of Dimes, Relay for Life, and the Laguna Madre Lions Club. Perez received a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics from UT Pan American in Edinburg, a Master of Arts in Interdisciplinary Studies with a major in History and minors in Government and Sociology from UT Brownsville.

Michael Slaughter of Wylie is an assistant principal at Princeton High School in Princeton, Texas and an ordained minister. He is a member of the National Association of Secondary School Principals, Association of Texas Professional Educators, and the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals. Additionally, he volunteers with Habitat for Humanity and Wylie Youth Soccer Association. Slaughter received a Bachelor of Arts in Christian Studies from Union University, a Master of Education in Educational Technology Leadership from Lamar University, and is currently pursuing a Doctor of Philosophy in General Psychology from Grand Canyon University.

Jill Tate of Colleyville is former small business owner and served as a project manager at Turley Associates, Inc. and as an assistant property manager at Trammell Crow Company. Additionally, she is a community member of the Grapevine Colleyville ISD Parent Teacher Associations, an ambassador for the nonprofit Patriot Paws, and volunteer for the Grapevine Relief and Community Exchange program. Tate received a Bachelor of Business Administration in Real Estate from Baylor University.

These appointments are subject to Senate confirmation.