Governor Abbott Appoints Six To Texas Medical Board

September 30, 2019 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Arun Agarwal, Devinder S. Bhatia, M.D., Vanessa Hicks-Callaway, Satish Nayak, M.D., and Jason Tibbels, M.D. and reappointed Robert David Martinez, M.D. to the Texas Medical Board for terms set to expire on April 13, 2025. The Board regulates the practice of medicine in Texas.

Arun Agarwal of Dallas is Chief Executive Officer of Nextt and has business interests in textiles, cotton trading and real estate. He is on the board of the US India Friendship Council, Big Brother Big Sisters, Texas Public Policy Foundation Education Committee, and the US Global Leadership Coalition. In addition, he volunteers with the Living Dreams Foundation. Agarwal received a Master’s in Business Administration from IMT, Ghaziabad, a Master’s in Computer Information Systems from Southern New Hampshire University, and a Master’s in International Business from Harvard University.

Devinder S. Bhatia, M.D. of Houston is a Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgeon. He is the founder, CEO, and president of Southeast Texas Cardiovascular P.A., and is certified by the American Board of thoracic surgery and currently serves as chief of cardiovascular surgery at HCA Houston Healthcare Tomball. He is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and a member of The Fellow of the Federation of State Medical Boards. He is a member of the Society of Thoracic Surgeons, Society for Vascular Surgery, and the Harris County Medical Society. He currently serves on the board of directors for the Houston Symphony and is a former board member of the Health Museum. Bhatia received a Bachelor of Science in chemistry from the University of Arkansas and a Doctor of Medicine from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.

Vanessa Hicks-Callaway of Victoria most recently served as a field representative for a member of congress. Prior to that, she retired as a Lieutenant Colonel from the United States Army after providing 26 years of honorable service as a U.S. Army supply sergeant, U.S. Army Reserve military police officer, and finally as a U.S. Army military intelligence officer, with two combat tours in support of Operations Iraqi and Enduring Freedom respectively. Currently, she serves as president of the Kiwanis Club of Victoria and is a member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars, American Legion, and Disabled American Veterans. Additionally, she is a former member of the Victoria Chamber of Commerce and the American Business Women’s Association. Hicks-Callaway received a Bachelor of Arts in political science from Sam Houston State University and a Master of Science in human resources from Central Michigan University.  

Satish Nayak, M.D. of Andrews is a family physician, obstetrician and gynecologist at Nayak Clinic. He is a member of the American Medical Association, American Academy of Family Medicine, Texas Association of Family Physicians, and the Texas Medical Association. He currently serves as the vice president of the Yeriwah Mega Foundation and is a trustee for the Hindu Association of West Texas. Nayak received a Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery from Karnataka University, a Doctor of Medicine in Obstetrics & Gynecology from Mangalore University, a Doctor of Medicine in family medicine from Westchester County Medical Center, and a Doctor of Medicine in Transitional Medicine from the University of Maryland.

Jason Tibbels, M.D. of Bridgeport is the president and co-founder for the Institute of Patient Safety and Quality of Virtual Care PSO. In addition, he serves as the chief quality officer for Teladoc Health, Inc. and as the executive medical director for Solaris Hospice. He is a member of the Texas Medical Association, Montague-Wise County Medical Association, American Academy of Family Physicians, and the Texas Academy of Family Physicians. He also serves as a youth basketball coach. Tibbels received a Bachelor of Arts in chemistry from the University of North Texas and a Doctor of Medicine from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School.

Robert David Martinez, M.D. of Mission is the chief medical officer and chief physician executive at Doctors Hospital at Renaissance in Edinburg and senior executive vice president of DHR Health. He is a member of the Texas Medical Association, American Medical Association, and multiple community organizations. He has served as co-chair of the Ryan Gibson Leukemia Advocate and Research Group, member of the Texas Alzheimer’s Association and the Texas Workforce Solutions Board of Directors. Martinez received a Bachelor of Arts in psychology and biology from the Southern Methodist University and a Doctor of Medicine from The University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston, where he also completed his internal medicine residency.