Governor Abbott Appoints Sharma To Chronic Kidney Disease Task Force

December 18, 2019 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott appointed Kumar Sharma, M.D. to the Chronic Kidney Disease Task Force for a term set to expire at the pleasure of the Governor. The task force coordinates implementation of the state’s plan for prevention, early screening, diagnosis, and management of chronic kidney disease and educates health care professionals.

Kumar Sharma, M.D. of San Antonio is the Hillis Distinguished Endowed Chair in Medicine, the director of the Center for Renal Precision Medicine, chief of Nephrology and vice chair of research in the Department of Medicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He is vice chair of the Texas Kidney Foundation and a member of both the American Society of Nephrology and the International Society of Nephrology. He is credited professionally for writing a major theory that guides today’s chronic kidney disease research and therapeutics development. New technologies he has developed include unique mass spec spatial imaging for kidney disease, and he plays a leading role in the National Institutes of Health Kidney Precision Medicine Project. He recently identified pathways by which diabetes cause disease in kidney cells and patients. This breakthrough discovery and others are the reasons UT Health San Antonio is a national hub for analysis of special metabolic profiles of tissues. Sharma received a Doctor of Medicine from Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York and completed his clinical and research fellowship in Nephrology at the University of Pennsylvania.