Governor Abbott Appoints Perkins And Streusand To Texas Public Finance Authority

January 14, 2020 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Shanda Perkins and Ben Streusand to the Texas Public Finance Authority for terms set to expire on February 1, 2025. The authority issues and sells bonds for designated state agencies in order to finance the acquisition or construction of buildings.

Shanda Perkins of Burleson is the customer relations, mortgage, and claims manager for J Wales Enterprises, LLC, and is a former banker and vice president of 22 years. She is a member of the Texas Health Hospital Advisory Council, a former director of Johnson County and South Tarrant County Chamber Summit, and a former member of the Hill College Advisory Council Advisory Board, Congressional Advisory Council, and the Congressional Women’s Focus Group. She is a board member of Forest Hill Chamber of Commerce, chair of the Forest Hill Women’s Alliance, active member of Open Door Church. Additionally, she is a former member of the Burleson Lions Club and the United Way of Johnson County Board of Directors, former ambassador of the Burleson Chamber of Commerce, former part-time youth pastor of Steppingstone/Lighthouse Church, and former drama director Lighthouse Church. Perkins received certificates from Accelerated Banking Programs, and is certified in Business, Personal, and Trust Accounts in Banking.

Ben Streusand of Spring is president of Remington Bridge Capital, LLC and previously was president of Home Loan Corporation. He has over 30 years in investment banking and mortgage banking industries. He is former president of the Texas Mortgage Bankers Association and the Houston Mortgage Bankers Association and former Texas chair of the Americans for Prosperity Advisory Board. Additionally, he is a member of the Prepaid Higher Education Tuition Board and former board member of the Jewish Institute for National Security Affairs. Streusand received a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from George Washington University.