Governor Abbott Appoints Nine To The Nueces River Authority Board Of Directors

March 28, 2019 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Abbott has appointed Chad H. Foster Jr., Annelise Gonzalez, Debra Young Hatch, Marshall Davidson, Howard “Tony” Wood, and William “Bill” Schuchman and reappointed W. Alston Beinhorn for terms set to expire on February 1, 2023 to the Nueces River Authority Board of Directors. The Governor additionally appointed Karen Knolle and reappointed John Galloway for terms to expire on February 1, 2021. The authority shall administer the control, employment, and conservation of the waters of the Nueces River Basin, forestation and reforestation, groundwater, storm water floodwater, water quality control, solid waste, and parks and recreational facilities.

Chad H. Foster, Jr. of Uvalde manages business interests in real estate, produce, oil and gas. He has been a licensed real estate broker for over 10 years. Foster received a Bachelor of Business Administration from Texas A&M University.

Annelise Gonzalez of San Antonio is the director of business development and community relations at San Antonio Board of Realtors. She is a cohort with the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber’s Latina Leadership Institute. Gonzalez received a Bachelor of Arts in political science and a Master of Public Administration from The University of Texas at San Antonio.

Debra Young Hatch of Corpus Christi is the owner of DH Communications. She is a graduate of Leadership Corpus Christi, past president of Charity League, and a member of the Art Museum of South Texas. As the former governmental affairs director of the Corpus Christi Association of Realtors, she served on the Texas Association of Realtors’ statewide Political Council and Governmental Affairs Committees. Hatch received a Bachelor of Arts in journalism from Southern Methodist University and a Master of Arts in communication from Texas A&M Corpus Christi.

Marshall Davidson of Ingleside is the vice president of J. M. Davidson, Inc. He currently serves as chairman of the San Patricio County Economic Development Corporation. Davidson received a Bachelor of Arts in economics and Latin American studies from The University of Texas at Austin.  

Howard “Tony” Wood of Sandia is the director of the National Spill Control School and an adjunct professor at Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi. He is a board member of the Oso Creek and Bay TMDL Committee. He previously served on the Region L Water Planning Committee. Wood received a Bachelor of Science in biology, with minors in geology and chemistry from Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi, and a Masters of Science in environmental management from American Military University. 

William “Bill” Schuchman of Jourdanton is a rancher, specializing in exotic animals. He retired after 27 years as an environmental engineer. He currently serves as co-director of the Jourdanton Chamber of Commerce, executive board member of AMVETS, trustee and judge advocate of Jourdanton Veterans of Foreign Wars, and a life member of Veterans of Foreign Wars. He is past president of the Jourdanton Rotary, former executive director of Jourdanton Economic Development Corporation, and former vice commander, Jourdanton American Legion. He served in the U.S. Army as a medic during the Vietnam War. Schuchman received an undergraduate degree from University of Missouri and a masters degree in environmental engineering from Kennedy Western in Pennsylvania.

Alston Beinhorn of Catarina is a retired chief executive officer of Banque Heritage Asset Management. Previously, he was a vice president with Citigroup for over 26 years in the U.S., Singapore, United Kingdom and Canada. Beinhorn received a Bachelor of Arts in English literature from Amherst College.

Karin Knolle of Sandia is Justice of the Peace for Precinct 3 in Jim Wells County and president of Knolle & Sullivan Unlimited, Inc. (an agricultural enterprise), and is the presiding Judge of the Juvenile Drug Court for Jim Wells County. She is the Jim Wells County Representative to the Nueces River Watershed Partnership & Steering Committee and to the Coastal Bend Community Foundation, vice-chairman of the Jim Wells County Local Emergency Planning Committee, and serves as Fire Commissioner of the Jim Wells County Emergency Services District 1. She is a member of Justices of the Peace & Constables Association of Texas, Texas Justice Court Judges Association, and Pan American Round Table of Corpus Christi. In addition, she is a member of World Jersey Cattle Bureau, Texas & Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association, Texas Farm Bureau, South Texas Property Rights Association, and American Jersey Cattle Association. Knolle received a Bachelor of Arts in social work from St. Edwards University and a Masters Certificate in Homeland Security from The Bush School of Government and Public Service at Texas A&M University.

John Galloway of Beeville is the general manager and funeral director of Galloway and Sons Funeral Home. He is a member of the Texas Funeral Directors Association, board member of First National Bank, and a foundation board member of Coastal Bend College. Galloway is a graduate of the Commonwealth College of Sciences.

These appointments are subject to Senate confirmation.