Governor Abbott Appoints Miller And Young To Texas Early Learning Council

February 25, 2020 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Reagan Miller and Audrey Young to the Texas Early Learning Council for terms at to expire at the pleasure of the Governor.

The Texas Early Learning Council serves as Texas’ state advisory council as required by the federal Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of 2007. The Council utilizes its breadth of stakeholder representation to increase coordination and collaboration across state agencies and local program and service providers in order to improve the quality of and access to early childhood services across Texas. In 2019, the Council led a statewide birth-five needs assessment and developed the Early Learning Strategic Plan as part of Texas’ Preschool Development Grant project.

Reagan Miller of Austin is the Director of Child Care & Early Learning Division at the Texas Workforce Commission.

Audrey Young of Austin is a Child and Adolescent Health Manager at the Department of State Health Services.