Governor Abbott Appoints Four to Work Group on Blockchain Matters

September 30, 2021 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Carla Reyes, William Henning, Jennifer Buaas, and Dan Teczar to the Work Group on Blockchain Matters. Additionally, he named Carla Reyes as Chair. The work group will develop a master plan for the expansion of the blockchain industry in Texas and recommend policies and state investments in connection with blockchain technology. 

Carla Reyes of Allen is an Assistant Professor of Law at Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law. She is chair of the American Bar Association Business Law Section’s Article 2 Uniform Commercial Code Committee, the Research Director for the Uniform Law Commission’s Technology Committee, and an expert member of the International Institute for the Unification of Private Law’s working groups on Digital Assets and Private Law and Best Practices for Effective Enforcement. Additionally, she is a member of the Washington State Bar Association, the Digital Asset Working Group for the Uniform Law Commission, and the American Law Institute’s Joint Uniform Commercial Code and Emerging Technology Drafting Committee. Reyes received Bachelor of Arts from Whitworth University, a Juris Doctor degree from Duke University School of Law, a Master of Laws in International and Comparative Law from Duke University School of Law, and a Master of Public Policy from Duke University Sanford School of Public Policy. 

William Henning of Fort Worth is an Executive Professor of Law at Texas A&M University School of Law. He is a Life Member of the Uniform Law Commission and a member of the American Law Institute, American Bar Association, and Missouri State Bar. Additionally, he is a fellow of the American College of Commercial Finance Lawyers. Henning received a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga, a Juris Doctor degree from the University of Tennessee-Knoxville, and a Master of Laws from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign School of Law. 

Jennifer Buaas of Dripping Springs is Director of Strategic Digital Services at the Texas Department of Information Resources (DIR) where she is responsible for assisting agencies in the adoption of digital technology to automate processes, modernize legacy technology, and heighten the digital maturity of the workforce. Since 2005, she has served in several roles including as Director of Engineering, Director of Digital Government, and as product owner of the State of Texas digital assistant Texas by Texas (TxT). She is a past member of the Texas Association of State Systems Computing and Communication Board. Buaas received a Bachelor of Science from Texas A&M University and a Master of Business Administration from LeTourneau University. Additionally, she is a graduate of the Executive Leadership in Information Technology Excellence class and of the Governor’s Center for Management program. She will serve as the ex-officio member representing DIR. 

Dan Teczar of Austin is the Chief Information Officer and Director of IT for the Office of the Texas Secretary of State. Previously, he was a senior advisor at the Texas Department of Transportation and Director of IT Vendor Management. Additionally, he has held many private sector roles including two defense startup companies and projects such as the Boeing 787 Dreamliner program with Raytheon Technologies, and at the National Guard Bureau and the Base Realignment and Closure Commission with ANSER. Following completion of the Lockheed Martin Leadership Fundamentals Program, he served in a U.S. Department of Defense leadership role in Afghanistan for 3 years. Teczar received a Bachelor of Science in Computer Information Systems from the University of Tampa and has multiple certificates and graduate work completed from Boston University. He will serve as the ex-officio member representing the Office of the Secretary of State.