Governor Abbott Appoints Four To Texas Emergency Services Retirement System Board of Trustees

April 12, 2019 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Edward Keenan, Rod Ryalls, and Stephanie “Steph” Wagner to the Texas Emergency Services Retirement System Board of Trustees for terms set to expire September 1, 2023. Additionally, he has reappointed Frank Torres for a term set to expire on September 1, 2019. The system administers a pension System for 229 member volunteer fire and emergency departments across the state. In addition to providing retirement benefits, active members are covered by death and disability benefits.  Members are also eligible for fire science-related tuition benefits.

Edward Keenan of Houston is a consulting chief financial officer and is a member of the Pasadena Volunteer Fire Department. He is a member of State Firefighters' & Fire Marshals' Association (SFFMA) of Texas, president of the Pasadena Volunteer Firefighter Association, and the treasure and Pension Board chairman of the Pasadena Fire Department. Keenan received a Bachelor of Science in accounting and business information systems from Robert Morris College and a Master of Business Administration in information technology from the University of Houston. Additionally, he received his SFFMA Basic Fire Fighter Certification, Texas Commission on Fire Protection (TCFP) Fire Investigator Certification, and TCFP Fire Inspector Certification.

Rod Ryalls of Burkburnett is Assistant Chief of Fire Prevention for Sheppard Air Force Base. He is a member of the State Firefighters' & Fire Marshals' Association (SFFMA) of Texas, International Association of Fire Chiefs, and the Texas Fire Chief Association. He is the Fire Chief for the Burkburnett Volunteer Fire Department, president of the Red River District of the SFFMA, and the secretary/treasurer for Red River Valley Wildlife, Inc. Additionally, he is a member and past president of the Burkburnett Rotary Club. Ryalls retired from the U.S. Air Force in 2004 after 21 years. He received a basic certificate in fire science and technology from City College of Chicago, Ramstein Air Base, Germany, and a bachelor’s degree in fire and emergency management from Kaplan University.

Stephanie “Steph” Wagner of Wimberley is managing director & co-founder of Sendero Women & Wealth, a financial education and advisory firm. She has more than 20 years of experience in providing financial mentorship to individuals and business owners and is a published author in multiple national business publications. She is a former president and board member of the Center for Community Solutions, a non-profit organization that offers assistance to victims of domestic violence and relationship abuse. Wagner received a Bachelor of Science in finance and investments from the University of Southern California.

Frank Torres of Raymondville is the executive director of Willacy County EMS, Inc. and is the current chair of the Texas Emergency Services Retirement System Board of Trustees. He is a member of the Texas Ambulance Association, Texas Association of Public Employee Retirement Systems, and the State Firefighters' & Fire Marshals' Association of Texas. He is a Captain and the former Chief of the Raymondville Fire Department, and is chairman of the Raymondville Planning and Zoning Commission and the Trauma Regional Advisory Council. Torres received his paramedic license from Texas Southmost College.

These appointments are subject to Senate confirmation.