Governor Abbott Appoints Four To Education Commission Of The States

April 2, 2018 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Representative Dwayne Bohac, Representative Ron Simmons, Senator Larry Taylor, and John Colyandro to the Education Commission of the States for terms to expire at the pleasure of the Governor. Colyandro will serve as the Governor’s designee. Additionally, Senator Royce West, Commissioner of Education Mike Morath, and Commissioner of Higher Education Raymund Paredes will continue to serve on the Commission. 

The Education Commission of the States gathers and analyzes data concerning education needs and resources as well as encourages research in all aspects of education. The Commission was established over 50 years ago as an interstate compact on education policy.