Governor Abbott Appoints Four To Council On Cardiovascular Disease And Stroke

November 20, 2018 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed E’Loria Simon-Campbell, Ph.D. to the Council on Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke for a term set to expire on February 1, 2019. Additionally, the Governor appointed Janet Hall and reappointed Neal Rutledge, M.D. and Kyle Sheets, M.D. for terms set to expire on February 1, 2023. The council is charged with developing an effective and resource‐efficient plan to reduce the morbidity, mortality and economic burden of cardiovascular disease and stroke in the State of Texas.

E’Loria Simon-Campbell, Ph.D. of Houston is an assistant professor at Sam Houston State University – School of Nursing. She currently serves on the Associate Dean Search Committee, and chairs the Nursing Testing Committee at Sam Houston State University. She is a member of the American Nurses Association, Texas Nurses Association – Region 9, and Sigma Theta Tau International. She is also a member and fellow of the Association of College and University Educators. Simon-Campbell completed the pre-nursing program at Sam Houston State University, and received a Bachelor of Science in nursing from Prairie View A&M University, and a Master of Science in nursing and a Doctor of Philosophy in nursing from The University of Texas at Tyler.

Janet Hall of Florence is a regional vice president with Sodexo Healthcare Services. She is a member of the Texas Academy of Nutrition, American Academy of Nutrition, SEED – Sustainability Coalition, and the Daughters of the American Revolution. She previously served on the Texas State Board of Examiners for Dietitians. She is a registered, licensed dietitian and serves as chair of the Texas Advisory Board for Dietitians. Hall received a Bachelor of Science in food and nutrition from Texas Tech University.

Neal Rutledge, M.D. of Austin is a neurointerventional surgeon and partner with Austin Radiological Association. He is a member of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons, Society of Neurological Surgeons, Society of Neurointerventional Surgery, Radiosurgery Society, and American Society of Functional Neuroradiology. He is a former board member of the American Stroke Association and the Texas Affiliate of the American Heart Association. Rutledge received a Bachelor of Science with honors in chemistry and a Doctor of Medicine from Oklahoma University and completed post-doctoral training at Columbia University. He will continue to serve as chair of the council.

Kyle Sheets, M.D. of Ovala is an emergency room physician and CEO of Concord Medical Group, which manages over 50 hospital emergency departments. He is a member of the American Academy of Family Physicians, American Medical Association, Texas Medical Association, and Texas Academy of Family Physicians. He is the founding member of Physicians Aiding Physicians Abroad and former chairman of Christian Homes of Abilene. Sheets received a Bachelor of Science from Abilene Christian University and a Doctor of Medicine from The University of Texas Medical Branch School of Medicine.