Governor Abbott Appoints Four To Advisory Council On Emergency Medical Services

September 19, 2019 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Cassie Campbell and Jorie Klein for terms set to expire on January 1, 2020, Dudley Wait for a term set to expire on January 1, 2022, and Lucille Maes for a term set to expire on January 1, to the Advisory Council on Emergency Medical Services. The council recommends changes to the EMS/Trauma System in order to ensure that the community receives comprehensive and efficient emergency care.

Cassie Campbell of Salado is the director of nursing trauma and child protection team at McLane Children’s Medical Center, Baylor Scott & White Health. She is a member of the Emergency Nurses Association, Texas Emergency Nurses Association, Texas Nurses Association, and the American Nurses Association. Campbell received an Associate’s degree in applied science of nursing from Central Texas College, a Bachelor of Science in nursing from the University of Mary Hardin Baylor, and a Master of Science with an emphasis in nursing administration form Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

Jorie Klein of Dallas is the senior director of Trauma at Parkland Health & Hospital System. She is the immediate past-chair of the North Central Texas Trauma Regional Advisory Council, member and past president of the Society of Trauma Nurses, and former board chair of the Texas EMS, Trauma, and Acute Care Foundation. Klein received an Associate’s Degree in nursing from Cooke County College and a Bachelor of Science in nursing from University of Phoenix, and is currently pursuing Master of Science in nursing and Master of Health Administration from the University of Phoenix.

Lucille Maes of Angleton is the Chief of the Angleton Area Emergency Medical Corps, Inc. She is a member of Texas EMS Alliance and the American Ambulance Association and a former member of the National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians and National EMS Management Association. She has served on the board of directors and currently serves as an advisory member of the Texas Line of Duty Death Task Force. Maes received her Paramedic certification from San Jacinto College.

Dudley Wait of Schertz is a paramedic for the City of Schertz. He is a board member and past president for Texas EMS Alliance and former president of the Texas Ambulance Association.  Currently, he serves as vice chair for the Texas EMS Trauma and Acute Care Foundation. Wait received his paramedic certification from Houston Community College and a Bachelor of Business Administration in management from Texas A&M University.