Governor Abbott Appoints Five To Lower Colorado River Authority Board Of Directors

May 10, 2023 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Hatch C. Smith, Jr. and David Willmann and reappointed Stephen F. Cooper, Tom Kelley, and Nancy Yeary to the Lower Colorado River Authority (LCRA) Board of Directors for terms to expire on February 1, 2029. The LCRA delivers electricity, manages the water supply and environment, provides public recreation areas, and supports the community and economic development of the Lower Colorado River Basin.

Hatch C. Smith, Jr. of Boerne is chief executive officer and administrator of MidCoast Medical Center-Central and owns and operates RedSmith Genetics, which focuses on registered red and grey brahman cattle. He is a sixth-generation rancher in Central and West Texas. Previously, he worked in business and finance positions in New York City, Boston, and Dallas. He is a board member of American Brahman Breeders Association and American Tarentaise Association and a member of the Rural Capital Area Workforce Development Board and the Governor’s Broadband Development Council. Smith received a Bachelor of Science from Cornell University and a Master of Business Administration from Southern Methodist University.

David Willmann of Llano is the chairman of the Board of Llano National Bank and serves as executive chairman of its management team. He volunteers on the Texas A&M Rural Health Committee for Llano County and in numerous capacities with the with Llano County hospitals. Previously, he served in leadership positions with the Llano County Chamber of Commerce, Independent Bankers Association of Texas, Hill Country Livestock Raisers Association, Llano Lions Club, and the board of his local church. Willmann received a Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Economics and a Master of Science in Agricultural Finance from Texas A&M University.

Stephen F. Cooper of El Campo is owner and principal of Emerald Ag Investments and TeSodCo, LTD. He is a member of the Texas Water Development Board Region P Planning Group, chair-elect for Texas A&M University System Chancellor’s Century Council, and an Endowed Century Club member. He is a member of the 12th Man Champions Council, Texas A&M Legacy Society, Texas A&M Association of Former Students Leadership Council, and Texas A&M College of Agriculture Development Council. He also mentors students in entrepreneurship and received the Texas A&M University Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2015. Cooper received a Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Economics from Texas A&M University and is a member of the Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry.

Tom Kelley of Eagle Lake is owner and manager of Wiese Crop Insurance and 3TK Cattle and Rice Company. He is a fifth-generation rice farmer and cattleman. He is a director of the First National Bank of Eagle Lake and Colorado County Aggie Club, president of Eagle Lake Rice Dryer Inc., and a board member of the Texas Rice Improvement Association and the Colorado County Farm Bureau. Kelley received a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture Business from Texas A&M University.

Nancy Yeary of Lampasas is involved in a cow-calf ranching operation after 30 years of service with Lampasas Independent School District. She is a member of the First Texas Bank Lampasas Board of Directors and Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association and secretary of Lampasas Salvation Army Board of Directors. Additionally, she is the former secretary and president of the Lampasas Spring Ho Festival Board of Directors and member of the administrative committee at Lampasas Methodist Church. Yeary received a Bachelor of Science in Education from The University of Texas at Austin and a Master of Education from Tarleton State University.

These appointments are subject to confirmation by the Texas Senate.