Governor Abbott Appoints Five Statewide Health Coordinating Council

April 4, 2019 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Nancy Yuill, Ph.D. to the Statewide Health Coordinating Council for a term set to expire August 31, 2019. Additionally, the Governor appointed David “Dave” Allen, D.N.P. and Chelsea Elliott and reappointed Elizabeth Protas, Ph.D. and Bailey Wynne for terms set to expire on August 31, 2023. The council ensures health care services and facilities are available to all Texans through health planning activities. Based on these planning activities, the SHCC makes recommendations to the governor and the legislature through the Texas State Health Plan (TSHP). The council also provides overall guidance in the development of the TSHP, submission of the plan to the governor, and promoting the implementation of the plan.

Nancy Yuill, Ph.D. of Sugar Land is the campus president of Chamberlain University – Pearland College of Nursing. She previously served as the dean of the College of Nursing at Houston Baptist University. She is a member of the American Nurses Association, Texas Nurses Association, Texas Organization of Baccalaureate and Graduate Nurse Educators, and the Texas Association of Deans and Directors of Professional Nursing Programs. Yuill received a Bachelor of Science in nursing from Houston Baptist University, a Master of Science in nursing and a Doctor of Philosophy in nursing from Texas Woman’s University.

David “Dave” Allen, D.N.P. of San Antonio is the chief nursing officer at Methodist Specialty and Transplant Hospital. Previously, he was the chief of Advanced Practice Nursing and Evidence-Based Practice for Brooke Army Medical Center, and the United States Army Institute of Surgical Research Burn Center. He completed his military service having served as a Surgical Intensive Care Unit Staff Nurse for the 115th Army Field Hospital deployed to Adder, Iraq, earning an honorable discharge from both the United States Army and the United States Air Force. He is a member of the American Association of Critical Care Nurses and the American Organization of Nurse Executives. Additionally, he is a former gubernatorial appointee to the Texas Health Services Authority Board of Directors. Allen received a Bachelor of Science in nursing from Clarkson College, a Master of Science in nursing critical care from The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, and a Doctor of Nursing Practice from the University of Alabama.

Chelsea Elliott of Austin is the founder and executive director of the half Helen Foundation. She is a member of the Central Texas Vision Coalition, Mobile Healthcare Association, and the American Public Health Association. Elliott received a Bachelor of Arts in communication with honors from St. Edwards University.

Elizabeth Protas, Ph.D. of League City is the vice chair of the Universities Space Research Association Board of Trustees. She currently is a Fellow for the American Physical Therapy Association and the American College of Sports Medicine. Additionally, she is a board member for the United Way of Galveston and former member of the State Employee Charitable Council Advisory Committee. Protas received a Bachelor of Science in physical therapy and a Doctor of Philosophy in education from State University of New York at Buffalo.

Bailey Wynne of Dallas is a Clinical Pharmacist at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. She is a member of the Texas Pharmacy Association and American Public Health Association. She received an Honorable Discharge from the United States Army. Wynne received a Bachelor of Science in pharmacy from Creighton University and a Master of Healthcare Administration from The University of Texas at Arlington.

These appointments are subject to Senate confirmation.