Governor Abbott Appoints Burruss And Wyrick To Correctional Managed Health Care Committee

April 12, 2018 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed John Burruss, M.D. and Erin Wyrick to the Correctional Managed Health Care Committee for terms set to expire on February 1, 2021. The committee coordinates the development of statewide policies for the delivery of correctional health care within the criminal justice system.

John Burruss, M.D. of Dallas is the chief executive officer of the Dallas County Community Mental Health Center Metrocare Services. He is a fellow of the American Psychiatric Association and the Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians and member of the American College of Psychiatrists, American Medical Association, and the Texas Medical Association. Burruss received a Bachelor of Arts in biochemistry from The University of Texas at Austin and received a Doctor of Medicine and completed his residency in psychiatry at Baylor College of Medicine. Additionally, he received a certificate in leadership strategies for evolving healthcare executives from Harvard School of Public Health.

Erin Wyrick of Amarillo is the deputy director of behavioral health with the Randall County Juvenile Probation Department. She is a member of the Juvenile Justice Association of Texas and former member of the Texas Counselors Association. She serves on the Texas Juvenile Justice Department Advisory Council Suicide Prevention Workgroup. Additionally, she has completed certifications in rational emotive behavioral therapy as a level one practitioner, in trauma focused cognitive behavioral therapy, functional family therapy, and animal assisted therapy, and she has specialized training in trauma focused cognitive behavioral therapy. Wyrick received a Bachelor of Arts in psychology with a minor in sociology from Texas Tech University and a Master of Arts in counseling psychology from The University of Texas at Tyler.