Office Of The Governor’s Committee On People With Disabilities Announces 2017 Lex Frieden Employment Awards Winners

October 19, 2017 | Austin, Texas | Press Release

The Office of the Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities today announced the winners of the 2017 Lex Frieden Employment Awards. Named for Texas disability rights champion Lex Frieden, the awards are bestowed upon Texans who have displayed a commitment to empowering their employees, co-workers, and fellow Texans with disabilities.

“Our talented workforce is the engine that drives our dynamic economy, and an important part of this workforce are Texans with disabilities making invaluable contributions to businesses across this state,” said Governor Abbott. “Not only as the governor of the Lone Star State, but as a Texan with a disability myself, I encourage all Texans to learn more about disability employment and join me in celebrating the accomplishments of Texans with disabilities who have contributed to building an even better and brighter future for our great state.”

2017 Lex Frieden Employment Award Winners:

The Governor’s Trophy – Larry P. Johnson, Author, Disability Advocate, and Motivational Speaker (San Antonio)

Entrepreneurship Award – James Parker, Shredding on the Go (Houston)

Large Employer Award – MAXIMUS (San Antonio)

Medium Employer Award – FCI, Bureau of Prisons (Bastrop)

Small Employer Award – Crepe Crazy (Austin)

Non-Profit Employer – Food Bank of Corpus Christi (Corpus Christi)

Martha Arbuckle Award for a Local Committee Project – Houston Commission on Disabilities

The winners of the 2017 Lex Frieden Employment Awards will be honored at a ceremony co-hosted by the Governor's Committee on People with Disabilities and the Austin Mayor's Committee for People with Disabilities. The ceremony will be held on October 24, 2017 at 6:00 p.m. at the Wyndham Garden Hotel, Austin, Texas. The keynote speaker for this event will be Geronimo Rodriguez, Chief Advocacy Officer for Seton Healthcare Family and Providence. Doors open at 5:00 p.m.

To register for the award ceremony, visit LFEA Registration.