Governor Abbott Declares State Of Disaster In 15 Texas Counties

November 20, 2015 | Austin, Texas | Press Release

Governor Greg Abbott today declared a state of disaster in Bastrop, Brazoria, Caldwell, Comal, Galveston, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Hays, Hidalgo, Liberty, Navarro, Travis, Willacy, and Wilson Counties in the State of Texas. This declaration comes after preliminary damage assessments were finalized and federal declaration criteria was met. Governor Abbott is also requesting that the President declare a major disaster for individual assistance.  If the request is granted by the President, affected citizens in these counties may be eligible for Individual Assistance grants of up to $33,000 from the federal government, and low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

“The flooding that occurred this past October throughout the state forever changed many Texans’ lives,” said Governor Abbott. “Declaring a disaster in the Lone Star State may allow affected citizens across the state to gain access to the resources they need in order to start rebuilding their lives. I have no doubt that the victims of this flooding will build an even stronger future for themselves, their families and the State of Texas.”

View Governor Abbott’s Disaster Declaration.

View Governor Abbott's letter to the President.