Governor Greg Abbott Issues Disaster Declaration For 9 Texas Counties In Response To Severe Weather

April 17, 2019 | Austin, Texas | Press Release

Governor Greg Abbott today issued a State Disaster Declaration for 9 Texas counties impacted by recent severe weather, including thunderstorms and tornadoes that caused widespread property damage and the loss of life. The Governor has authorized the use of all available resources of state government and of political subdivisions to aid in response efforts.

“As a result of severe weather over the weekend, Texas is taking action to ensure those impacted have the resources they need to recover as quickly as possible,” said Governor Abbott. “I thank all our first responders and local officials on the ground in these communities for their efforts to assist fellow Texans in the aftermath of these storms. Working together, we will ensure that these East Texas communities are rebuilt stronger than ever before.”

Counties included in the disaster declaration are: Cherokee, Freestone, Houston, Leon, Madison, Nacogdoches, San Augustine, Shelby, and Robertson.

Read the Governor’s full State Disaster Declaration.