Governor Abbott Vetoes SB 790 (85R)

June 15, 2017 | Austin, Texas

Pursuant to Article IV, Section 14, of the Texas Constitution, I, Greg Abbott, Governor of Texas, do hereby disapprove of and veto Senate Bill No. 790 as passed by the Eighty-Fifth Texas Legislature, Regular Session, because of the following objections: 

The Women’s Health Advisory Committee was created last session “to provide recommendations to [the Health and Human Services Commission] on the consolidation of women’s health programs.”  By law, the Committee is set to expire in September 2017.  The Committee fulfilled its statutory charge after the women’s health programs at HHSC were successfully consolidated under the Healthy Texas Women’s Program, which launched in July of 2016.  The Committee’s purpose has been served, and it should be allowed to expire as was promised when it was created last session.  In addition, the HHSC executive commissioner is already authorized by the Government Code to maintain advisory committees “across all major areas of the health and human services system,” so there is no need to continue a particular legislative mandate for a committee that, by law, has achieved its legislative mandate. 

Senate Bill 790 does nothing more than extend the expiration date of a governmental committee that has already successfully completed its mission.  Rather than prolong government committees beyond their expiration date, the State should focus on programs that address more clearly identifiable needs, like my call for action to address the maternal mortality rate during the special session. 

Since the Eighty-Fifth Texas Legislature, Regular Session, by its adjournment has prevented the return of this bill, I am filing these objections in the office of the Secretary of State and giving notice thereof by this public proclamation according to the aforementioned constitutional provision. 

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have signed my name officially and caused the Seal of the State to be affixed hereto at Austin, this 15th day of June, 2017. 


Governor of Texas


View the Veto Proclamation