Governor Abbott Issues Disaster Declaration For Six Texas Counties Following Severe Weather

April 29, 2020 | Austin, Texas | Press Release

Governor Greg Abbott today issued a disaster declaration for six Texas counties as a result of severe weather sustained across the Lone Star State last week. The Governor has authorized the use of all available resources of state government and of political subdivisions to aid in response efforts.

“This disaster declaration will help the State of Texas provide local officials with the resources they need to respond to the aftermath of these storms,” said Governor Abbott. “Our hearts continue to be with those who were affected by these destructive storms, and the state is committed to working alongside these communities throughout the recovery process.”

This declaration includes Jasper, Lamar, Newton, Polk, Red River, and San Jacinto counties.

Read Governor Abbott’s full declaration.