Governor Abbott Congratulates Girls Go CyberStart Program Teams On Competition Success

March 14, 2018 | Austin, Texas | Press Release

Governor Greg Abbott today congratulated Texas high school teams across the state that competed in the inaugural Girls Go CyberStart initiative. In partnerships with SANS Institute, the program was designed to encourage young women to become involved in the field of cybersecurity. Teams of Texas students competed in a free online game to learn more about computer security training. More than 500 teams took part in Texas with various awards and grant funding given to the highest scoring teams.

"Cybersecurity is an extremely important issue in the world today, and I am thrilled to see the next generation of our best and brightest Texas women getting involved," said Governor Abbott, "Their participation in the Girls Go CyberStart initiative will undoubtedly help spark more interest and increase the possibilities of future careers within this growing field. I thank the SANS Institute, the Texas Education Agency and the Texas Department of Information Resources for their work in carrying out such a positive initiative.”

568 teams participated at various competitions in Texas from February 20-25, 2018. The Texas Education Agency (TEA), Texas Department of Information Resources (DIR) and the SANS Institute partnered together to provide participants and schools with awards of $500, $1,000, and $1,500. Specific information on the awards is listed below.

Awards for high scoring teams: (Total $1,500.00 for being one of the national recognized schools plus prizes to each of the team members)

#1: Independence High School: $750 plus each team member gets a $50 gift certificate and a ChromeBook.

#2: Medina Valley High School: $500 plus each team member gets a $50 gift certificate and a Raspberry Pi with touch screen.

#3 Rockwall-Heath High School: $250 plus each team member gets a $50 gift certificate and a BEATS headphone set.

Awards for great recruiting to give more girls a chance to see whether they might enjoy and excel in cybersecurity:  (Total Award for Texas Schools $7,650.00)

  • (TIE) Medina Valley High School: $1500
  • (TIE) Mission High School - $1500
  • San Marcos High School - $1000
  • Memorial 9th Grade Academy - $500
  • Eastwood Academy - $250
  • Victoria West High School - $250
  • Edcouch-Elsa High School - $250
  • Weslaco High School - $200
  • Fort Stockton High School - $200
  • Klondike High School - $200
  • Mission Collegiate High School - $200
  • Robert E. Lee High School - $200
  • La Joya High School - $200
  • Lovejoy High School - $150
  • Lyford High School - $150
  • East Central High School - $150
  • Bloomington High School - $150
  • Rockwall-Heath High School - $150
  • ITSA - $150
  • Achieve Early College High School - $150
  • Mineral Wells High School - $150