Governor Abbott Adds 14 Texas Counties To Presidential Disaster Declaration In Response To Harvey

August 30, 2017 | Austin, Texas | Press Release

Governor Greg Abbott today requested the addition of 14 Texas counties to the Presidential Disaster Declaration previously granted by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). This addition will bring the total to 33 counties which will receive Individual Assistance, Public Assistance (Categories A and B including Direct Federal Assistance) and Hazard Mitigation from FEMA in response to the damage caused by Hurricane Harvey. The previously granted 19 counties include Aransas, Bee, Bexar (for Public Assistance), Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Ft. Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Harris, Jackson, Kleberg, Liberty, Matagorda, Nueces, San Patricio, Refugio, Victoria, and Wharton.

"Texas continues to work closely with both federal and local officials to provide critical resources to those in need as quickly as possible in the aftermath of this catastrophe," said Governor Abbott. "I am thankful FEMA continues to stand with the people of Texas during this difficult time. One thing this storm has not broken is the character of Texans, and I will make sure the affected communities across the state have everything they need to rebuild.”

Counties added to the Presidential Disaster Declaration for Individual Assistance and Public Assistance (Categories A and B including Direct Federal Assistance) include:

  • Colorado
  • Fayette
  • Hardin
  • Jasper
  • Jefferson
  • Montgomery
  • Newton
  • Orange
  • Sabine
  • San Jacinto
  • Waller

The following counties have been declared for Public Assistance (Category B) including Direct Federal Assistance, as they are sheltering jurisdictions:

  • Dallas
  • Tarrant
  • Travis

Governor Abbott has already issued a State Disaster Declaration for 58 Texas counties in response to the storm.

The additional counties were immediately granted approval by FEMA.