2018 Barbara Jordan Media Awards Winners Announced

April 2, 2019 | Austin, Texas

The Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities today announced the winners of the 36th Annual Barbara Jordan Media Awards for media content created in 2018. Winners are chosen each year by a panel of judges — including Texans with disabilities, journalists, and professionals in the field of disabilities — and will be honored during a ceremony hosted by The University of Texas at Austin at the Etter-Harbin Alumni Center. The Governor’s Committee welcomes and encourages your attendance at this free event.

"These awards are named after a remarkable woman who had the courage to fight, break down barriers, and build opportunities for those with disabilities," said Governor Abbott. "The incredible work of this year's winners reflect her spirit of inclusion, and serve as a reminder that it is incumbent upon all of us to recognize the immeasurable value of individuals with disabilities. I congratulate the awardees and thank them for playing an important role in leading this charge." 

The awards are named in honor of Barbara Jordan, a Houston native and U.S. Congresswoman who gained recognition and a place of honor in history. She was known as a remarkable orator who broke barriers and built bridges. Jordan received the Presidential Medal of Freedom and served for one day in 1972 as the Governor of Texas (both Governor Preston Smith and Lt. Gov. Ben Barnes were out of state). In 1973, Jordan was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis, and eventually began to use a cane and then a wheelchair. Jordan passed away in 1996. She was inducted into the Texas Women's Hall of Fame in 1984.

The Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities is proud to announce this year’s winners:


Nancy Shugart

Prove Them Wrong – Be the One to Make it Happen

Children’s Book:

Chris Barton

What Do You Do with a Voice Like That? The Story of Extraordinary Congresswoman Barbara Jordan

Broadcast Feature, Extended:

Mike Snyder, Bob Phillips, Kelli Phillips, Dan Stricklin, Texas Country Reporter

Iron Will

Broadcast Feature:

Ana Ramirez, Austin American-Statesman

Swimming for a Dream

Broadcast News:

Wayne Carter, NBC 5 / KXAS-TV

Disabled Woman Says Uber Driver Refused Service Due to Service Animal

College Student:

William Dennis Kosinski, The Daily Texan

Deaf students struggle with getting last-minute interpreters

High School Student:

Hanna Gaither, Dripping Springs, The Paw Print

A Person First Before Hurtful Words


Cody Duty, Texas Medical Center’s Pulse magazine

Racing to Recovery


Nadia Hamdan, KUT Austin

Capital Metro tests new ways to help blind riders catch the bus


Marc Ramirez, The Dallas Morning News

Living inside a canister: Dallas polio survivor is one of few people left in U.S. using iron lung

For more information on the awards ceremony, please contact the Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities at (512) 463-5739.