Presidential Disaster Declaration Granted For Texas Counties

February 9, 2016 | Austin, Texas | Press Release

On January 26th, Governor Greg Abbott requested a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 25 Texas counties due to damage sustained from the severe weather at the end of December. This morning, the President granted the request for Public Assistance for the following 25 counties: Bailey, Castro, Childress, Cochran, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Ellis, Hall, Hardeman, Harrison, Henderson, Hopkins, Kaufman, Kent, King, Lamb, Lubbock, Navarro, Parmer, Rains, Red River, Rockwall, Titus, and Van Zandt.

“I want to thank the President and FEMA for granting my request for a disaster declaration in these 25 Texas counties,” said Governor Abbott. “We will continue to work with our FEMA partners to rebuild these counties and ensure that they come back stronger than ever.”

Governor Abbott’s request for Individual Assistance for the following six Texas counties remains under review: Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Franklin, Rockwall and Van Zandt