Governor Abbott Appoints Three To Teacher Retirement System Of Texas Board Of Trustees

May 6, 2016 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed John Elliott and Greg Gibson and reappointed Christopher Moss to the Teacher Retirement System of Texas Board of Trustees for terms set to expire August 31, 2021. The board manages retirement and other benefits for teachers and employees of the state's public schools and institutions of higher education.

John Elliott of Austin is a partner at Smith, Robertson, Elliott & Douglas, L.L.P. He is a member of the American Bar Association, State Bar of Texas, Austin Bar Association, International Council of Shopping Centers, Urban Land Institute and the Real Estate Council of Austin. Elliott received a Bachelor of Business Administration in accounting and a Juris Doctor from The University of Texas at Austin.

Greg Gibson of Schertz is superintendent of Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City Independent School District. He is a member of the Texas Association of School Administrators and National Baldrige Award Panel of Judges. Additionally, he is a board member and examiner for the Quality Texas Foundation. Gibson received a Bachelor of Science and Master of Arts in education from Midwestern State University and a Doctor of Education from the University of North Texas.

Christopher Moss of Lufkin is president of Allendale, Inc. DBA The Advanced Financial Group. He is a member of the National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors, board member of the Angelina County Fair and a committee member of Angelina County Go Texan. Moss received a Bachelor of Science from Texas A&M University and a Master of Business Administration from Sam Houston State University.