Governor Abbott Appoints Three To State Board of Criminal Justice

November 14, 2019 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Molly Francis, Faith Johnson, and Sichan Siv to the Texas Board of Criminal Justice for terms set to expire on February 1, 2025. The board provides confinement, supervision, rehabilitation, and reintegration of the state’s convicted felons.

Molly Francis of Dallas is a retired senior judge with 28 years of judicial service, most recently on the Fifth Court of Appeals. She is member of the State Bar of Texas and served as chair of the Judicial Selection Committee, former board member and current member of the Dallas Bar Association, and former chair of the Texas Center for the Judiciary. She is board certified in Criminal Law and Criminal Appellate Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Francis received a Bachelor of Arts in History from Baylor University and a Juris Doctor degree from Baylor Law School.

Faith Johnson of Dallas is a partner at Stanton LLP. She previously served as Judge of the 363rd Judicial District Court and as Dallas County Criminal District Attorney. She is a member of the State Bar of Texas and the Dallas Bar Association and former member of the American Judges Association, Texas Public Safety Commission, Texas Department of Family & Protective Services Board, Violent Gang Task Force, Dallas County Juvenile Board, and the State of Texas Committee on Judicial Ethics. Johnson received a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and a Master of Education in Community Counseling from Georgia State University and a Juris Doctor degree from Texas Southern University Thurgood Marshall School of Law.

Sichan Siv of San Antonio is a former United States Ambassador to the United Nations and is an author. He also served as Deputy Assistant to the President and Deputy Assistant Secretary of State. He is a Lieutenant Colonel in the Civil Air Patrol and a volunteer with the San Antonio Police Department. Siv received a Master of International Affairs from Columbia University.