Texas Workforce Commission’s Unemployment Assistance For Contract Workers
The TMO has compiled a list of frequently asked questions that we receive concerning unemployment assistance benefits provided by the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC). If you are a music industry professional and you are seeking assistance in speaking with a TWC representative on the phone, you may email us at the Texas Music Office, and we will try to assist having TWC reach out to you.
- Gig Workers / Contract Workers / Self-Employed:
- How Do I Apply?:
- TWC Pauses Work Search Reinstatement:
The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) announced on June 30, 2020 that it will delay the reinstatement of the work search requirement for unemployment benefits in Texas. This requirement, which is federal law, was suspended due to the COVID-19 pandemic. From the outset, TWC has stated that bringing back work search would be conditions-based. “Due to the resurgence of COVID-19 cases in Texas, TWC has decided to pause the return of work search requirements at this time,” said Ed Serna, TWC Executive Director.
- Proof of Income Notice for Self-Employed, Independent Contractors (1099), and Gig Workers:
If you worked for the entire year of 2019 as a self-employed worker, a 1099 independent contractor, or a gig worker, you do NOT need to provide the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) with your 2019 IRS 1040 Schedule C, F or SE unless your net profit for 2019 exceeded $20,800. That is the minimum amount needed to increase your Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) weekly benefit amount (WBA).
You will continue to receive the $207 minimum Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) weekly benefit amount (WBA) if your net profit for 2019 was less than $20,800. Providing your income tax return is optional and will not affect your weekly benefit amount if your net profit was less.
If you worked as a 1099 independent contractor, do NOT send TWC your 1099 form. Your 1099 form will have no effect on your Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) weekly benefit amount (WBA).
- Are UI Benefits Taxable?:
- Did You Receive A Letter From TWC About Overpayment?"
Have you recently received a letter from the Texas Workforce Commission about overpayment; "Do I need to pay my overpayment back now?" some Texans have asked. Currently, there is no penalty for not paying back the amount immediately and TWC is taking the approach of asking claimants to pay what they can, when they can.