Nominations Open for the 2019 and 2020 Texas State Musician

August 20, 2018

On behalf of the Texas State Legislature, the Texas Commission on the Arts is now accepting nominations for the 2019 and 2020 Texas State Artists. Nominations are accepted for Texas State Musician (as well as Texas Poet Laureate, Texas State Two-Dimensional Visual Artist, and Texas State Three-Dimensional Visual Artist). Any Texas citizen is able to nominate a living artist in any of the four categories and self-nominations are welcome. You may submit more than one nomination for different artists.  

Nominations will be accepted online through October 15, 2018. The Texas Poet Laureate, State Musician and State Artist Committee, composed of members appointed by the Governor, Lieutenant Governor and Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, will make the final selections for the Legislature's consideration and approval in 2019.

Learn more about the Texas State Artists nomination process and submit nominations via the button below:

Submit Nominations

Prior Texas State Artist Musicians:

2003 James Dick
2004 Ray Benson
2005 Johnny Gimble
2006 Billy Joe Shaver
2007 Dale Watson
2008 Shelley King
2009 Willie Nelson
2010 Sara Hickman
2011 Lyle Lovett
2012 Billy F Gibbons
2013 Craig Hella Johnson
2014 Flaco Jimenez
2015 Jimmie Vaughan
2016 Joe Ely
2017 George Strait
2018 Marcia Ball