

## GOVERNOR GREG ABBOTT

October 22, 2020

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

11:30AM O'CLOCK

Secretary of State

The Honorable Ruth R. Hughs Secretary of State State Capitol Room 1E.8 Austin, Texas 78701

Dear Secretary Hughs:

Pursuant to his powers as Governor of the State of Texas, Greg Abbott has issued the following:

A proclamation renewing the disaster declaration in 62 counties in Texas as a result of Hurricane Laura.

The original proclamation is attached to this letter of transmittal.

Respectfully submitted,

Gregory S. Davidson

Executive Clerk to the Governor

GSD/gsd

Attachment

## **PROCLAMATION**

BY THE

## Governor of the State of Texas

## TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME:

WHEREAS, I, GREG ABBOTT, Governor of the State of Texas, issued a disaster proclamation on Sunday, August 23, 2020, certifying that Hurricane Marco and then-Tropical Storm Laura posed a threat of imminent disaster, including widespread and severe property damage, injury, and loss of life due to widespread flooding, storm surge, and damaging winds, in Aransas, Bexar, Brazoria, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Galveston, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Kenedy, Kleberg, Liberty, Matagorda, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Refugio, San Patricio, Victoria, and Willacy counties; and

WHEREAS, I subsequently amended the aforementioned declaration and declared a state of disaster due to the threat Hurricane Laura posed to the previously declared counties and these additional counties: Anderson, Angelina, Bowie, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Dallas, Ellis, Fort Bend, Franklin, Gregg, Grimes, Harrison, Houston, Leon, Madison, Marion, Montgomery, Morris, Nacogdoches, Panola, Polk, Red River, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Smith, Tarrant, Titus, Travis, Trinity, Tyler, Upshur, Walker, Waller, Wharton, and Wood counties; and

WHEREAS, on September 22, 2020, I issued a proclamation renewing the disaster declaration for all counties listed above; and

WHEREAS, due to the widespread damage caused by Hurricane Laura, a state of disaster continues to exist in those same counties;

NOW, THEREFORE, in accordance with the authority vested in me by Section 418.014 of the Texas Government Code, I do hereby renew the disaster proclamation for the 62 counties listed above.

Pursuant to Section 418.017 of the code, I authorize the use of all available resources of state government and of political subdivisions that are reasonably necessary to cope with this disaster.

Pursuant to Section 418.016 of the code, any regulatory statute prescribing the procedures for conduct of state business or any order or rule of a state agency that would in any way prevent, hinder, or delay necessary action in coping with this disaster shall be suspended upon written approval of the Office of the Governor. However, to the extent that the enforcement of any state statute or administrative rule regarding contracting or procurement would impede any state agency's emergency response that is necessary to protect life or property threatened by this declared disaster, I hereby authorize the suspension of such statutes and rules for the duration of this declared disaster.

In accordance with the statutory requirements, copies of this proclamation shall be filed with the applicable authorities.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto signed my name and have officially caused the Seal of State to be affixed at my office



in the City of Austin, Texas, this the 22nd day of October, 2020.

GREG ABBOTT

Governor

ATTESTED BY:

RUTH R. HUGHS Secretary of State